Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salem High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 381 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2013

High academic standards to those who take advantage of this opportunity. This school is a IB school which means they compete against the world, not just the state of NJ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

I have so many mixed feelings about Salem High School. I have felt very safe having my daughter attend, and there are a lot of great staff and teachers. But there doesn't seem to be much of a committment to stronger academics. I have to wonder how many 'sending district' kids who are serious academically will be attending Salem this fall. Secondly, I wonder if that concerns anyone in charge at Salem City School District? I hope so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

I think this school needs some changes. I am not very pleased with this school. I feel Mr Price is working hard to make things better. He is very helpful, alot more then some others i have spoke with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

I think Salem is a great school where kids can get individual attention. It is very ethnically diverse so yuo learnto get a long with students of all races. I disagree about the comments about mr. price. I think even though some of his changes are extreme they are all for the better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

Salem High is a good school but is goin down the drain with the new Vice Principal Mr. Price in charge...And is very boring
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2005

I am a proud 2004 Salem High School graduate. Salem High is a very small schooll but they produce very well educated respectful students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 2, 2005

Salem High School is a great school. It has alot of programs to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

I think that this is a great school for kids to learn more because of the smaller classroom size that the school prevides it gives the students more one on one time with the teacher. And I should know because I am a student myself.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students70%
Female70%
Male70%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education12%
General education87%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students43%
Female58%
Male30%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Special educationn/a
General education57%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant43%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students10%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant10%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

53%

SAT college ready

11%

Graduation rate

75%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 16%
White 27% 51%
Hispanic 5% 22%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Gregory Dunham

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

219 Walnut St
Salem, NJ 08079
Phone: (856) 935-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ranch Hope Strang School
Alloway Township, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT