Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
Coles is a fantastic school. The teachers work with each of the kids as individually as possible, and there is amazing parent involvement. The new principal is supportive and positive, and I believe she is responsible for the consistent maintenance of a positive learning environment. My kids (my 3rd child is now at Coles) love waking up in the mornings and going to school.

J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 4

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
Coles is a great school. Teachers and principal are very supportive. Excellent teaching. My daugther love her school.


J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
We love Coles Elementary. It's a school with a dedicated and caring staff. It's a safe and child friendly setting. Not on a main road, but easily accessible from Terrill Road. There's a playground at the back of the school, and a field to the left of the school for sports and games. There's a path behind the school that connects with Allenby Lane so children from the cul-de-sacs off Cooper road can walk to school without having to go all the way around via Terrill Road. It is surrounded by fine homes on one acre properties. The school is exceptionally well maintained, the classes and hallways are always spotless and nicely decorated with student work and art. Coles Elementary is wonderful!

J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
My son has attended Coles now for two years, and is currently a third grader. I am very pleased with Coles in every respect. The teachers are great, and my son is having a wonderful year. We feel very fortunate to be connected with Coles, and could not ask for a better school for our third grader. Submitted by a parent

J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 4

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
Our child's experience at Coles in second grade has been a dramatic improvement over last year. With the benefit of hindsight, the issues we previously had with the school were probably teacher-specific. His current teacher, Ms. Gallagher, is new but energetic and up to the challenge of varying her day to day instruction to engage her students. We did place our 5 year old in kindergarten there as well and are very happy with his teacher, Ms. Mendenko, and the progress he has made. The kindergarten is half-day which is the perfect duration for him. All in all, Coles is living up to its reputation as a highly rated public school.


J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2006
- a parent
Coles School gets our highest rating. The interaction between teachers, school staff and children is very warm and respectful. We love this school.

J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 4

Posted March 26, 2006
- a parent
My daughter went to this school for the 2004-2005 session (1st grade) in Mrs. Prato's class. I must say, I was very happy with the academics and the extra curricular activities at this school. Mrs. Parto is an excellent teacher, and I think most other teachers with whom I had an oppurtunity to interact are also very good. Overall , a good school.

J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2005
- a parent
We have been so impressed with Coles School. Personal attention is given to students in a very warm and involved atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School
16 Kevin Road, Scotch Plains, NJ  07076
(908) 757-7555
Last modified J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J. Ackerman Coles Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top