Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Sea Girt, NJ
Students enrolled: 161
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sea Girt Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Sea Girt Elementary provides our children an amazing learning atmosphere with exceptional teachers. The class sizes are very small and the community involvement at all levels is extraordinary. We couldn't ask for a better place for our children to prepare themselves for academic excellence and the school is one of the main reasons we chose to live in Sea Girt.

Sea Girt Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
Buyers Beware! Sea Girt Elementary School, once known for its academic excellence, has become mediocre at best.. Many neighboring districts continue to surpass Sea Girt in all academic areas. Read http://education.state.nj.us/pr/ report carefully. The administration,( Superintendent/principal, Business Admin. & Board of Ed.) Is an organization inclined to conceal the data. They will not disclose information regarding lawsuits, legal costs, and Special Ed issues. The lack of an accelerated curriculum proves particularly deficient, as Sea Girt does not have a high admission rate into the highly competitive vocational schools. Class size is on the smaller side which fosters exclusion & bullying. Enrollment has decreased due to the poor administration. Many fine tenure teachers have left and the administration has chosen not to conduct exit interviews.


Sea Girt Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
Parents and prospective families: please note that to get a "10 out of 10" rating on the Great Schools website, the school administration populated data for student growth and test scores, but significantly omitted the third data point: the school s college readiness score ... which is a significant data point where Sea Girt School fails to perform. College readiness reflects the number of students who take Algebra by 8th grade. When SG's college readiness data is factored into the overall Great Schools rating, SG is not the "10 out of 10" school it pretends to be. The fact that this data point was omitted reflects what has been noted in another reviewer s comments (see below): that the administration routinely cherry picks school data to make the school appear on paper better than it actually is!

Sea Girt Elementary School 2

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
'Known for academics and respect', in my opinion, is a completely false statement regarding this school. New leadership has taken over as of Spring 2013, and has created a totally different atmosphere for both students, faculty and parents. It is now a stressful, threatening environment and is no longer the school that it used to be under former leader. Over the past five years, this school has lost or managed to forcefully encourage students to leave. The enrollment is 20 students less than five years ago which indicates at least a 12 percent difference in enrollment that five years ago. The present leadership will likely deny the facts on enrollment. The board of education unfortunately does not want to hear from anyone with criticism of current school environment. They will likely not have to worry about it for much longer, because if this school continues to follow their current trend of downward enrollment, there won't be a school to worry about. Wake up Sea Girt tax payers. If this school is something you still want, you will need to fight for it while you still can. That means showing up at the Board of Education meetings.

Sea Girt Elementary School 2

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
Atmosphere has declined at SG School since new administrative leadership was hired this past school year. Teachers are walking on eggshells and parents are feeling unwelcome. Carefully review tests scores as well. Administration cherry picks the data. As many parents of graduates will tell you, I didn t enjoy living in my town until my kids were out of the school .. then I could love my town again. Very hard to be in school of this size. Bullying is swept under the rug if at all possible. Lastly be forewarned: if your child needs any special services, stay far away. Almost every family in the district needing services has to lawyer up.


Sea Girt Elementary School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a community member
Hi! I am a sixth grade student at Sea Girt, and let me just say this is an amazing school! With devoted teachers and friendly people, this school is a dream for me. There are many different levels of learning provided. The principal is awesome and very kind. Sports are also pretty good, and we have a great theater department, Everyone is welcome at Sea Girt!

Sea Girt Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
great teachers, small classes- a lot to offer!

Sea Girt Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
A family atmosphere with excellent teachers, small classes, high test scores, in a great shore town!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sea Girt Elementary School
451 Bell Place, Sea Girt, NJ  08750
(732) 449-3422
Last modified Sea Girt Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sea Girt Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top