Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Rose of Lima School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Short Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,201,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2013

The teachers here are generally terrific as are the kids and most of the parents. The Principal is okay (not great) and the curriculum is quite good. The kids do very well on standardized tests but this may be attributable to many factors. Overall, a warm, nurturing environment with good emphasis on Catholic values. Not the most diverse school, that's for sure. The car line comment below is out of date now that there are buses offered for many of the kids (especially for those from Maplewood and South Orange).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

SRLA is a second home to my family. My children feel safe and comfortable walking each morning. I am always uplifted my the warm greetings and children holding doors for each other as we walk in each morning. Our experience with different teachers has all been positive, with some teachers being extraordinary. I agree that our school is a special place. My husband and I also feel a great sense of camaraderie and support from the other parents - a strong majority of whom contribute their time, money and skills to keep the school community consistently improving. We are very happy at St Rose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

St. Rose of Lima Academy is a warm and inviting elementary and middle school with strong Catholic values and an excellence in academics. As a parent of two children at the Academy for more than 7 years, I believe the faculty and administration care deeply for the students and their ability to succeed in and out of the classroom. My kids also love the athletics with well-rounded basketball and track programs as well as the community service and "family days" with the older kids. The preschool has also grown by leaps and bounds over the past few years and they have a great lunch and extended "poppins" option for young families. Its a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

I went to this school and I was pushed down stairs and verbally bullied; my parents had to transfer me out of it. the kids don't accept their peers unless they are from the same ethnicity and wealthy. If you're different your excluded and made fun of. Plus the teachers don't do anything about it. For example: my old spanish teacher just sat there playing on her Ipad while I was being ganged up on. Is that really the environment you want your child/children to go to? I just left about 2 years ago


Posted October 6, 2012

Would you like to wait in car line all morning and evening? Take your kids here. I actually had 2 sweet little girls until they went here. This school turns your kids into something else. Leadership is laughable, agenda having religious figures trying to scare kids instead of gaining their respect. I wouldn't send an animal to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

Two of my children attended St. Rose. One is now in High School and the other is entering Third grade. We are entering our eleventh year at St. Rose and I can't say enough good things about the school. I was very pleased with the education both of my kids received. Academics are excellent and the teachers inspire a love of learning. You don't have to choose just one thing to specialize in. My oldest child became a lover of classics and all things science. All of the teachers know all of the kids and it's my impression that they watch over them and care about what happens. There are moms that work and moms that stay at home and as a working mom I was always welcome at whatever was going on in school. I would recommend St. Rose highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

For the price, you would expect the teachers and staff to be the best in the state...this is NOT so. The teachers are unfriendly and the staff (excluding Danny, who answers the phone) is appalling. If you are interested in sending your child to a that emphasizes material values over moral, than this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

I went to school here from k-8; I thought it was good...I was well prepared for high School...now I am a Freshman Engineering Student at Stevens Institute of Technology
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

St Rose is an excellent school. Ive been going here for many years and it is a great expirience. I have made many friends and it is a very welcoming enviorment. It not only teaches you academics and religion but it teaches you about life and leadership.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2007

i was in this school, and it was the best school that i had ever been. I'ts to bad that this school isn't a high school too, becuse if it was, this would be my first choise. I left Saint Rose because i had to move, i went to europe, and here in europe, i never had an education like at saint Rose. At saint rose, the teachers were very calm and nice, and when you didn't understand something, they would be there to help you out. If you didn't know or understand something, they wouldn't humiliate you in front of the whole class, instead, they would expln it to everyone again. The library had a bigger selection in books than any other school that i have attended. All students (well, the ones that i got to know) were nice and not snobby at all. Saint Rose is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2007

This is an amazing school that offers the 'full' range of educational opportunities. The students are offered many sports, enrichment and volunteer opportunities. The faculty takes an overall interest in each student and the overall school community. The HSA is very involved in fundraising so that many cultural events and extras are provided to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

This school offers a wide range of educational opportunities. Not just great academics, but many educational extracurricular activites as well.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2004

Four of my five children attend St. Rose. It provides an excellent environment with strong Catholic foundation. 45%+ Students score in the 89th percentile on the Terranova tests. Graduates get accepted to top private high schools and later top colleges and universities. Active parent organization, students involved in social concerns. Sports program includes basketball, track, soccer, golf, wrestling & laccross. Non-sport activities include yoga, choir, forensic debate, computer and theatre. Faculty fully credentialed, all have degree some post-graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 52%
Asian 10% 8%
Black 5% 19%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Hispanic 3% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52 Short Hills Avenue
Short Hills, NJ 07078
Phone: (973) 379-3973

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT