Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Amboy Elementary School 2

Posted September 23, 2015
- a parent
I agree that this school shows favoritism,there is a girl whose mother is a teacher and she is not a good student but she gets the laurels ...hm fair?Most of this people know eachother ,or teacher know the parents and if thats your case you have nothing to worry about but if you just moved here and not part of the clique in any way and happened to have a honor roll student with good behavior nobody would care ,because they can not see you...academics so so...This is a small town school whose moto is not aspiration but favoritism!

South Amboy Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
My child absolutely loves this school. The teaching staff is extremely caring and the principal is very involved with all of the children. It feels good to send my child to a school where she isn't just another face in the crowd.


South Amboy Elementary School 2

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
South Amboy schools leave something to be desired regarding the quality of the educational program. There is no gifted program for children before 3rd grade which is required K-12 by state statute. The scripted curriculum does does meet the needs of all the students. My elementary student does nothing but worksheets all day and rarely reads in school with almost no direct reading instruction with her teacher.

South Amboy Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
My child's school is great. They have attentive teachers and staff that work well with the diverse community of South Amboy. I have had my son enrolled in other systems and South Amboy has been the best by far.

South Amboy Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
I have three children that attend SAES and I am very proud of their academic success. As a teacher myself in a neighboring town, I am love their early World Culture program and Robust vocabulary enrichment activities. My daughters are so proud of their school and teachers. The SAES staff and administration are professional, compassionate and very dedicated to their profession. They are always personalizing the individual education of their students. As an educator myself, I couldn't be more pleased with SAES! Keep up the fantastic job! We love you guys! T


South Amboy Elementary School 2

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
It could be better. SOME of the teachers & staff tend to show favortism to students because their parents attended & grew up in town. Its very hard to feel welcomed by other parents. The only ones that show interest is the Principal & Vice Principal but their plates are full which is understandable.There is nothing to stimulate the children. No field trips out of town except to the library which any one can go to. During recess there is only one activity which causes quarrels. The teachers that should be watching during recess are not attentive enough. It takes too long for issues to be ressolved among students. Overall Im glad my kids no longer attend.

South Amboy Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
No need for private school. This is an excellent school. One of our children recently graduated and the other will be entering the fifth grade. The teachers do a wonderful job in preparing the students for standardized tests; and they also really care about their students. Our kids have always enjoyed their teachers. Additionally, both the principal and vice principal are very hands-on. Like any school, parental involvement is necessary to augment success. My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised and recommend the school highly.

South Amboy Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
THE TEACHERS AND STAFF REALLY CARE AND WANT TO SEE THE STUDENT SUCCEED.


South Amboy Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
the schools programs are wonderful and all the teachers and staff are great. im very happy my children are going to this school.

South Amboy Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
Love the school. My child is going into 2nd grade - we have great teachers thus far - and she is happy to go to school each day!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Amboy Elementary School
249 John St, South Amboy, NJ  08879
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (732) 525-2118
Last modified South Amboy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top