Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
South River, NJ

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South River High School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
This is a great town to live in and the schools are renovated or on the newer side. The superintendent is great and has been around a long time. The staff care about the students.

South River High School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
I would rate this school worse. Just last year there was a heroine overdose in the high school. They discovered a ring of students who were injecting heroine. Public didn't hear that though.


South River High School 1

Posted June 08, 2011
- a student
As a former student of SRHS, it was both embarrassing and comical to observe the red tape choke the school out of its educational ambiance. Police reports are filed for using cell phones, suspensions are issued for wearing hats, and the detention room is filled with students who wrongly had a water bottle on their desk during class. The administrative staff is utterly obsessed with disciplinary policy as opposed to improving the curriculum. I would strongly suggest SRHS to pursue Abbot-district candidacy.

South River High School 2

Posted August 15, 2009
- a student
i'm a former student at south river high school, and can say from four years of experience that school politics and budget issues are running the district to the ground. despite the town and school's small size, srhs is run as a corporation with little regard to educational standards. having graduated, i feel as if i've learned very little but took a very long time to do so. thankfully, poor leadership is offset by a handful of truly wonderful teachers [exception: the art department, which is a joke to serious art students] that made my experience less excruciating. the school's small size enables students to have down-to-earth relationships with their teachers. especially helpful is the intellectually-cultivating enrichment program, which prepares one for college in a mature environment. i longed to graduate already for much of my time there and regret my educational experience, but not the bonds i developed.

South River High School 4

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
South river high school is a schoool that needs help at points. Dress codes arent enforced as well as they should be and even though the pricipal listens he is strict when it comes to seriious issues he isnt scared to enforce rules using the handbook. The teachers in the schhool are some wonderful teachers. The physics teacher is wonderful with students and he rather you understand the subject rather than make you memorize formulas or other situations such as that. He truely cares about his students.One


South River High School 2

Posted June 20, 2007
- a student
I am a student at South River High School and I personally do not like their system at all! It is so unorganized. They do not enforce the dress code and when a problem occurs, they handle it unprofessionally. I do not feel I am being challenged enough and I simply do not feel I will be ready for college in two years. And I would not blame that on myself. When a rule gets passed in our school and the students don't like it, they will complain and complain. And who wins? The students do because there are no or few leadership skills in South River. I cannot wait until I graduate so I do not have to be in that school anymore.

South River High School 4

Posted February 24, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

South River High School 4

Posted February 07, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


South River High School 2

Posted April 13, 2005
- a parent
For some time, there has been concern or lack of for the prof. & educational, sound teaching experience provided for the non-english speaking students that enter South River High School. Teachers expressing their extreme need for mentorship and curriculum based materials, have fallen on deaf ears. To make matters worse, it is mistakenly understood AND EXPECTED that one person should be able to take on the entire responsibility of teaching language acquisition AND being blamed for the students not performing well on state test scores. This is two different job descriptions given to one person. It has been said that all children should receive (and are entitled)to the same quality of a 'private education.' Somehow, no one is looking out that these students get their share also. Who's getting hurt?

South River High School 5

Posted November 22, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South River High School
11 Montgomery Street, South River, NJ  08882
(732) 613-4014
Last modified South River High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South River High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top