Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hilltop Country Day School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sparta Township

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $323,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

My children have been attending Hilltop for 5 years. The new leadership has influenced academics in such a positive direction incorporating state of the art technology that really prepares children for the future. The element that is most important for me as a parent, is the absolute respect that a child finds here. Teacher contracts and politics do not come before sound instruction or focus on a child's psycho-social development. Parents are included in the entire process of the school's experience. Parental feedback is wanted, even welcomed. Many of the teachers have been at Hilltop for 15 years plus because they too believe that children come first. It is not a purgatory waiting for a public education position that would pay them much higher salaries and better benefits. There is no perfect system but Hilltop comes close, putting children first everyday. There is tution assistance available. If you are looking for a school, i recommend taking a tour at Hilltop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Hilltop Country Day School is an amazing school with a well balanced program, exceptional faculty, staff and leadership. My children were well prepared for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

This is why I opted not to return my child last year to the school when I learned that she was made headmaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Laura McGee lacks of leadership, team player and self esteem. I am baffled why she was given responsibility of headmaster. My guess the board decided price over quality of our children s education. It s is difficult to have a serious conversation with her on an important school issue without her bringing her personal misery into the conversation which I find very unprofessional. She has jeopardized Hilltop s future. The school board needs to do a reassessment on Ms. McGee for the sake of our students, school s reputation and future. Overall, there are some outstanding teachers in the school but without leadership from the headmaster this school is spiraling downhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I have never seen 'unhappiness' or 'angry staff raising their voices at children.' Anyone who would say a thing like this obviously has an axe to grind against someone. Small classes is a wonderful thing. Social interaction is not a problem. Older children always help and interact with the younger children. the children in the classes are very close and courteous to one another. It is a wonderful place. People bring their children from as far away as Pennsylvania. This is an outstanding educational institute
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

We are a long time family: lower school and upper, even have a graduate. What a program. Strong academics, great preparation, full commitment to the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

My son started out from PK. Outstanding curriculum, caring teachers, good parent involvement, great principal. Although not afiliated with any religion, character building is an actual 'class'. A bit pricey, there are extra charges, and pressure to donate an extra 1K. Leading one to question financial stability. Something other private schools seem to have in spades
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2008

Been at Hilltop the last two years and I can't imagine how it has 'lost its identity' it strikes me as spot on. Wonderful teachers, knowledgeable, caring professionals. Accessible administration, eager to listen. We moved up here from Morris County and it's pretty clear that you can 'steal' a private school education at HIlltop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

Small class size is helpful, but borders on stifling. There has been a lot of change in teaching staff, which feels like Hilltop is going through some major growing pains. School has lost its identity a bit under the guidance of the current headmaster. Hilltop offers a nice variety of after school programs, and makes help available to students who need extra attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Hilltop is truly a community! Everyone cares about the children. The curriculum and individualized attention are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

Hilltop is top-notch! Our daughter's in Pre-K and had attended three other schools prior to joining HTCDS. This school far-surpasses the others at every level - caring, communicative teachers, challenging, cooperative projects, strong academic foundation building and confident, happy kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

Amazing school--talented,loving teachers with continuity at Hilltop---innovative learning---ability to tailor curriculum to children's abilities and interests w/out sacrificing educational goals/quality. Honestly, the best school in Sussex County. Wide range of extras. Parents involved as they want to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

Hilltop Country Day is a wonderful community to be a part of. There is support for both parents and children. Classroom teaching is innovative. Teachers are passionate educators. A great place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

Review of 1st grade. No extra work was given when requested early in the year. Child was way ahead academically from class, was bored stiff.Class size was larger than promised. The Reading program was OK but still was way below the knowledge level of my child. Spelling words too easy. No individualized challenges child to peak interest. However looking ahead the higher grades did look challenging and more on top of curriculum. Music program is great. Perhaps one needed to be a stay at home parent to be involved more in school. AFter school care, all activities $$.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

1. Above average academic programs. 2. Quite a few extracurricular activities. 3. Parents can be involved if they choose to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2006

Great School. Great Teachers. Focused on the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

Had three children go through the school. Wonderful individual attention. High quality teachers. Imaginative curriculum PS-8th Grade. Outstanding preparation for high school. Graduates are accepted to the top independent schools in NJ and the northeast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Not so great after kindergarten. The school is too small and the curriculum is not particularly broad.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2005

My son attended the Pre-school program and is now moving into pre-kindergarden. This is an incredible school from the small children to teacher ratios, demonstrated commitment to each child, to the facilities which are excellent. Most pre-schools I visited in the area had more of a playgroup feel. While the kids certainly play at hilltop, the teachers ultimately get them to learn all while having fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

Excellent school! Lots of indvidualized attention, small classes, caring teachers and administrators. Highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32 Lafayette Road
Sparta Township, NJ 07871
Phone: (973) 729-5485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rev George A Brown School
Sparta Township, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT