Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Sparta Township, NJ
Students enrolled: 121
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hilltop Country Day School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
My children have been attending Hilltop for 5 years. The new leadership has influenced academics in such a positive direction incorporating state of the art technology that really prepares children for the future. The element that is most important for me as a parent, is the absolute respect that a child finds here. Teacher contracts and politics do not come before sound instruction or focus on a child's psycho-social development. Parents are included in the entire process of the school's experience. Parental feedback is wanted, even welcomed. Many of the teachers have been at Hilltop for 15 years plus because they too believe that children come first. It is not a purgatory waiting for a public education position that would pay them much higher salaries and better benefits. There is no perfect system but Hilltop comes close, putting children first everyday. There is tution assistance available. If you are looking for a school, i recommend taking a tour at Hilltop.

Hilltop Country Day School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
Hilltop Country Day School is an amazing school with a well balanced program, exceptional faculty, staff and leadership. My children were well prepared for High School.


Hilltop Country Day School 3

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
This is why I opted not to return my child last year to the school when I learned that she was made headmaster.

Hilltop Country Day School 3

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
Laura McGee lacks of leadership, team player and self esteem. I am baffled why she was given responsibility of headmaster. My guess the board decided price over quality of our children s education. It s is difficult to have a serious conversation with her on an important school issue without her bringing her personal misery into the conversation which I find very unprofessional. She has jeopardized Hilltop s future. The school board needs to do a reassessment on Ms. McGee for the sake of our students, school s reputation and future. Overall, there are some outstanding teachers in the school but without leadership from the headmaster this school is spiraling downhill.

Hilltop Country Day School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
I have never seen 'unhappiness' or 'angry staff raising their voices at children.' Anyone who would say a thing like this obviously has an axe to grind against someone. Small classes is a wonderful thing. Social interaction is not a problem. Older children always help and interact with the younger children. the children in the classes are very close and courteous to one another. It is a wonderful place. People bring their children from as far away as Pennsylvania. This is an outstanding educational institute
1 person found this helpful


Hilltop Country Day School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a parent
We are a long time family: lower school and upper, even have a graduate. What a program. Strong academics, great preparation, full commitment to the arts.

Hilltop Country Day School 5

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
My son started out from PK. Outstanding curriculum, caring teachers, good parent involvement, great principal. Although not afiliated with any religion, character building is an actual 'class'. A bit pricey, there are extra charges, and pressure to donate an extra 1K. Leading one to question financial stability. Something other private schools seem to have in spades

Hilltop Country Day School 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a parent
Been at Hilltop the last two years and I can't imagine how it has 'lost its identity' it strikes me as spot on. Wonderful teachers, knowledgeable, caring professionals. Accessible administration, eager to listen. We moved up here from Morris County and it's pretty clear that you can 'steal' a private school education at HIlltop.


Hilltop Country Day School 3

Posted July 30, 2008
- a parent
Small class size is helpful, but borders on stifling. There has been a lot of change in teaching staff, which feels like Hilltop is going through some major growing pains. School has lost its identity a bit under the guidance of the current headmaster. Hilltop offers a nice variety of after school programs, and makes help available to students who need extra attention.

Hilltop Country Day School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
Hilltop is truly a community! Everyone cares about the children. The curriculum and individualized attention are excellent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hilltop Country Day School
32 Lafayette Road, Sparta Township, NJ  07871
(973) 729-5485
Last modified Hilltop Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hilltop Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top