Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sparta High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 7 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

I have 2 students that are recieving an excellent education as well as an experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

I keep reading about how Sparta students don't get into good schools, but I'm a Duke grad. Of my friends who I graduated with, we have Princeton, Yale, Dartmouth, Harvard, UVA, and Stanford represented. I'm not sure what they're talking about when they say "You'll be lucky to get into Community College."
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2013

This school is average. There are highs and lows. Many teachers will support you if you want. If you're lazy, they will not hesitate to let you fall behind. I attend MIT now, and a few of my graduating class also attend Ivy league schools. While I wasn't accepted to MIT due to my being at Sparta high, being in college now, I value what i did learn here. My education here was very good, because my parents decided to make it so. You can go far from being a Sparta graduate, but not without outside help. All in all, Sparta is a good platform to jump off of or fall from, but it really depends on your legs to see how far you land and how well you stand.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2012

I attended Sparta High School and am proud that I went there. The teachers and coaching staff were excellent overall. I participated in cross-country and track. Ms. Lockhart was a fabulous, patient algebra instructor. I felt a part of the school community. GO SPARTA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2012

Our daughter graduated from Sparta & had a wonderful experience; many great opportunities; She went on to a good university where she excelled thanks to the good education she had received a Sparta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

Sparta High School Doesn't make the grade. Test scores don't lie. The most recent state testing indicates that Sparta High is ranked #42 in the "I" school district out of a total of 48 schools. This places Sparta High near the very bottom of their district. Yes, the school has been remodeled and they are trying their annual curriculum change. However, this has been done almost every year and the results continue to disappoint. Things will not change until they get rid of the Superintendent and his supporters on the BOE that have driven this once proud "Blue Ribbon" school district into the ground. High taxes and poor school performance all add up to a bad school choice. Private school in Sparta is a must if you want your kids to get a good education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

We moved here from a state in which we thought that the public school system was less than adequate. We had read and heard from our realtor that Sparta High School was in the top tier of the state. What a huge shock to find that not only was this school below expectations, but our "less than average' school system from another state was far superior in terms of SAT scores and overall education scores. Our children expressed out of control classrooms, teachers who teach in a politically liberal if not accurate sense, and a staff that leads out of fear of parental retribution. The students who graduate from SHS are not attending Ivy League schools. In fact, many are happy to get into community college. The students run this school, and the leadership allows it. If you are reading this and considering moving to Sparta for the school system...make sure that you have enough built into your budget for private schools. You'll find it you are going to need it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

I am disappointed by the Sparta BOE. I moved here speciifcally for the educational system 8 years ago. I have been going to nearly all the BOE meetings and sadly see all the wasteful spending that they do. At a $64 Mill. budget they just keep spending. They make careless decisions and keep all the focus on the high schoolers and not on the younger elementary kids. The educational system is trending downward; they need to get new leadership from the BOE and the super.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Sparta just passed the largest referendum in the state showing the communities commitment to keeping the schools great in Sparta. They consistently pass budgets and have an Education Foundation that is active is raising the funds needed to keep excellance in the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

The music programs haven't enough funding, the building is falling apart and the new addition won't be finished for years (putting students in trailers for classes), sports are overemphasized, teachers are unsympathetic and uncaring. Honors and AP classes are mostly a joke and consist of an arbitrary unduly long application and testing process for acceptance, extremely small classes, and the same studies as the regular programs but with more homework. I would not at all recommend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 6, 2007

Academics not important at SHS: athletics matter infinitely more. Best department is music; music teachers very best in school. Superintendent is horrible. Very few students allowed into AP and honors classes. Most students have little or no homework. Teachers hand out mimeographed papers (copious) with illegible handwriting. Suggestion - if you want your kids to get a good education, bypass Sparta High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I'm not a parent but a graduate of the Sparta school system. I've recently graduated from college with high honors and am working in my desired field, well ahead of many of my piers. SHS served as a superb starting point for a successful future. I had the privilege of learning from some of the best teachers (some better than many of my college professors) I've ever known. I took mostly AP/Honors classes throughout my HS career and learned a great deal. An earlier review said that the selection process for these classes is arbitrary, but I assure you that's not the case. As long as you took the time to apply and proved that you belonged there, you can join these classes. The same review also said: 'If your plans include a top college, then forget it,' but all of my friends went on to prestigious institutions, including Harvard.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2006

I think it is a great school. I feel my children and their friends have learnt a lot and have contributed equally back to the school and community. Sparta has seen growth in population in the past few years. With growth comes new problems - housing, schools and safety. Sparta has handled these problems quite well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

While the school is a bit overcrowded and the facilities are a tad dated, the quality of education is second to none. The teachers are top notch, the sports teams are successful and the arts programs are diversified and well run.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2005

Academic excellence is not a priority at Sparta High School. A large number of the experienced teacher have retired or moved to other schools. Teachers don't want too many honor or AP students and the school administrators have devised an arbitrary formula to reject potentially eligible candidates. The school is overcrowded and there is a neverending battle between the Superintendent and the Township about building a new high school. The sentiment in the township is against it. Many people believe that there is room in the present school for expansion at a much lower cost. If you are interested in football, soccer, or baseball or don't have much academic expectations for your kid, then Sparta High is not a bad choice. If your plans include a top college, then forget it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

87%

SAT college ready

53%

Graduation rate

97%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 51%
Hispanic 5% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Black 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70 West Mountain Road
Sparta, NJ 07871
Phone: (973) 729-6191

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Willowglen Academy
Sparta Township, NJ



Pope John Xxiii High School
Sparta Township, NJ


Lakeland-Andover School
Lafayette Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT