Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Edward V. Walton Elementary School

Public | PK-2 & ungraded | 623 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

Edward Walton is great. The classroom teacher are able to individualized classroom and home work assignments. Students are reassessed throughout school year and teacher are attentive to the students. I am very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

Absolutely careless school. Nobody cares about the students. All this school cares is how to get money in every way possible. No help, no understanding, no responsibility. I would think twice before I put my kids into this disgusting school. I am appalled. Springfield such a nice town, to have such a horrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

I moved to Springfield so my son could be in a full day kindergarten and he just made the cut-off (which is longer than other districts). I work in another district, but did not want to send my son to the schools in the district I work in. I am so proud to say my son attends Edward Walton. He loves it and all the staff members are great! I have nothing negative to say against this school. The parents are involved and the school does a lot of fundraisers that benefit the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

Great School... Great Teachers n Great curriculum. Very well managed...Principal, Teachers, Office Staff, School Bus Staff n aalll exceeds above all the expecations...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

ATTN! before you even consider this Gestapo school, you should be aware that NO flexibility or understanding of ANY kind is exercised by the staff of this,,, so called... school!! Do your reserach on the staff DENYING a student to come to school because he has a MEDICAL ALLERGY to egg in the shot that they MANDATE!!! This CALLOUS school's staff will NOT let this Victim of their GESTAPO mandates, finish his education! Despicable!


Posted May 29, 2012

This is great school where the children are well taken care of and the school is very well organized. My daughter after moving in from the 1st day she started enjoying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

One of the best schools in New Jersey or probably in US. I had heard good reviews about this school. But when i moved to Springfield and had my daughter put to school, it really exceeded my expectations from the school. Excellent and well trained staff, personal attention to children, lots of effort taken to ensure latest technical enhancements are given to children in the school.. It couldn't have been better. Way to go...!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

Have really enjoyed sending my daughter to this school. The teachers are all very kind and on the ball and I respect the way it is run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

My daughter went to Walton from K to 2nd grade. It's been a wonderful experience in every respect. Excellent, collaborative , friendly atmosphere in the class. The teachers not only deliver high academic/ well rounded curriculum, but they pay attention to building characters and a right attitude towards learning. Very well organized school. A lot of effort goes into arts, music and health education. There is a gifted and talented program starting in 1st grade, and their results are amazing. Homework is well balanced and kids( and parents) can choose different levels of difficulty. Communication with teachers via email is seamless, everybody I interacted with was very responsive and went the extra mile to help. Can't think of a better school for my daughter. I'm looking forward to Sandmeyer next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

I think the school is very organize, the kids are safe, and the staff is great,....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 51%
Hispanic 17% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 9%
Black 7% 16%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Mountain Ave.
Springfield, NJ 07081
Phone: (973) 376-1025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St James The Apostle School
Springfield Township, NJ


Crossroads School
Westfield, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT