Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stratford Classical Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 100 students

Our school is best known for our award-winning music program.

 
 

Living in Stratford

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

Quality education and an excellent community of fellow Christians! The education here is rigorous and challenging but excellent, and well-worth it! This school's motto, "Building a Legacy of Christian Leaders" is exactly what the SCCA community strives to do in all its efforts. Whether it be academics, classroom experiences, counsel, extracurricular activities, or service projects, what I like most about SCCA is that this school teaches its students how to think, so that they can continue learning their entire lives, as well as giving them a wonderful mix of experiences and activities for growing socially and spiritually! Everyone who attends should know the overall goal at SCCA, because that's the motivation behind student life and faculty life every day. I would like to see SCCA grow! The education, the community, and the goal at SCCA are phenomenal things in a school, and I believe that it has the potential to have great investment in the next generation of Christian leaders.


Posted October 26, 2013

Truly an amazing school! I am a graduate from SCCA & I know for a fact that my family's decision to attend SCCA was the right choice. I transferred here my 11th grade year and even in those couple years SCCA's teachers and administrators taught me more than I could ever have imagined I could in two years- within the classroom and beyond it! I loved being a part of this wonderful community, dove into the education and took part in as many extracurricular activities and groups as possible, including orchestra, golf, drama, choir and yearbook! While having a full and an incredibly rigorous curriculum, all education and extracurricular activities are based in the truths of the Word. The education here at SCCA is well-worth the hard work, but the extremely supportive, caring, and loving staff is what I love the most. The teachers LOVE to teach and the teachers LOVE their students beyond the classroom. This is the thing that keeps us alumni visiting the campus all the time!


Posted January 11, 2013

We attended this academy for nearly 6 years. The day we learned we had to move we knew the hardest part would be leaving behind Stratford Classical Christian Academy. This school by far has the best academics in Southern NJ. The teachers love the students and they care about the details. We have moved to another Classical School down south and miss so many things about Stratford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

Stratford Classical Christian Academy is a K-12 school in South Jersey, which has a rigorous, challenging curriculum taught from a biblical worldview that is based on the proven method of the medieval Trivium. It fosters a vibrant community of learning and a family friendly atmosphere. The school has the best teachers and top quality staff that are both highly trained and motivated to develop students into cultural leaders. SCCA offers a variety of top notch extracurricular activities including choir, instrumental ensemble, mock trial, fencing, basketball, track and field, soccer and drama. This institution works with homeschool families as well. It welcomes families from all ethnic groups and a diversity of Church backgrounds. SCCA is a committed member of the Association of Classical and Christian Schools (ACCS), which holds schools to the highest standards. Visit the school's website at njclassical.com and make an RSVP to an Open House.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 13, 2012

Truly an excellent school! We are confident that our decision to send our children to SCCA was the right choice. While we live in an excellent school district, the curriculum paled in comparison to SCCA. The teachers and administrators at SCCA are extremely supportive. The staff genuinely cares about the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

I am the parent of a Kindergartner at SCCA. We were referred to SCCA by several parents with children at SCCA, who spoke very highly of the school (one of which is a former educator). While our son is still early in his school "career" we've already seen an impact on him. He has continued the social growth started at his pre-school and he's bolder in his participation in group activities where in the past he was reluctant, choosing instead to watch. We've seen him gain confidence in applying the things he's learning at school in new ways once school day is over, clearly an indicator that SCCA is reinforcing his successes. From what we've seen in other classrooms, that is the case for all of the students. The academic program is well thought out and rigorous, but appropriate for the children allowing them to stretch intellectually. We have been very pleased with the interaction of the teacher and the administration (communication is copious at SCCA) and they seem genuinely interested in working with the parents to give each child the best education. Many schools and teachers say they are invested in the children's success, but at SCCA we can see that this is truly the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

My son attends. we love it and he loves it. It is truley a top of the line education. More advanced than any school in the area. The teachers are so caring and LOVE to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I have two children at the academy. They both came from catholic school educatiion. My children have excelled here. The curriculum is challenging and the children are alway's excited to go to school. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 19%
White 25% 52%
Hispanic 18% 20%
Asian 4% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Christian school
Homeschool
Public school
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Latin and Greek

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jonathan Jones
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACCS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Socratic Method
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • The ability to learn anything

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Latin and Greek
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Carpools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Access to public school sports
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Access to public school sports
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Christian school
Homeschool
Public school

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

710 Laurel Rd.
Stratford, NJ 08084
Website: Click here
Phone: (856) 882-7222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Goddard School
Laurel Springs, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT