Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Toms River High - North High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 87 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2012

As a former student, I loved it. MOST teachers are very involved with helping their students, it is just the gym teachers that lack in this area. I personally didn't care for them much, they can be very unfair and are extremely obsessed with sports and try and convey the message that academics don't matter when applying to college. In other words, good school, but too revolved around sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2012

As a former student, I can attest to the superb atmosphere, teachers, and staff at High School North. I loved the school and the opportunities it provided me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2010

Unless you are an athlete or a stuck up snob don t go here. Teachers really don t care about providing a good education, they are only there for the pay check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

trn is an amazing school getting involed in sports and activities really helps in being a part of the schhoool <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

Too big. Not personal at all. Staff and faculty doesn't know students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

Excellent faculty & staff. Plenty of clubs and activities. Perhaps a little too much emphasis on sports and too much concern about limiting student activities off school grounds. Beyond that, a great place to get an edcation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

As a current student at TRN, I know exactly what the school is like. I will try my hardest to make a difference in this school, I think we can work together and make TRN as amazing as TRS and TRE. Let's all work together.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2004

The discipline and the safety in the cafeteria and halls is non existent. The bullies control the halls and cafeteria. If a child reports an incident he only gets bullied and teased even more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am a former student from the 70's. Back then, school in general was very different. I was not what you would have called an involved or motivated student. I went to school on most days, did most of my homework and got mostly B's to show for my efforts. My divorced parents never bothered to discuss college with me nor did the school. I graduated as an adult in 1995, from a great college in Virginia. I consider myself to be sucessful in spite of my non-involvement in the educational process. It is never too late to get an education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

My son, who is an honor roll student was seriously upset when he could not understand his connective math. His teacher didn't even fully understand it and was absolutely no help to him at all. This is just another example of why curriculum should be introduced at a normal pace and schools should be more interested in the students really learning as opposed to getting them to pass ridiculous tests that really never define intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

There is one reason why this High School is #2 in the County, the students, parents and teachers take a serious involement into education. Overcrowding is an issue throughout the US and to think it would not exist in the fastest growing county in the North East is ridiculous. If you have a serious child who wants a future this High School gives what it receives. If you do not agree with me look at the colleges the graduates go to. If your child takes advantage of what this High School has, your child will go places. If you blame all the usual distractions teenagers encounter upon the education system, they will end up making excuses for their entire life. My son graduated North and was accepted into an excellent University in N.J. with academic scholarship. My daughter is in all Honors at North and I anticipate she too will enter a fine University. Forget the social nonsense and the overcrowding, you sit on your kid, give them appropriate social values along with an excellent Public High School, your child is going places. If you doubt what I said,look at how many North graduates have gone onto Harvard. North has one of the highest acceptance rates in the county for Ivy Leaque Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I'm not a parent of a student, but am a former student myself, now in college. I didn't enjoy high school. I had some really bad teachers during my four years. When I say bad teachers, I don't mean a teacher who was mean or gave detention. I mean teachers who truly didn't care about their jobs, and were literally just waiting to retire. I also had 2 amazing teachers who have truly affected my life. Both have unfortunately retired. My other experiences with teachers have been mediocre. I've had fun teachers and boring teachers. The AP teachers at North are all great, and are extremely qualified at what they do. The school is overcrowded, but I've never really had a problem with having too many students in a classroom. The administration has absolutely no contact with the students at North. I honestly had no idea what Mr. Coleman, the principal, looked like until my sophomore year. Even with each class having a separate vice principal, they only seem to deal with the trouble-making kids. It's probably due to this that every vice principal has a very negative demeanor whenever a non-trouble making student approaches them for something. They treat every student like a criminal. Security is pretty tight at North. There was never a time when I didn't feel safe, except when a random fistfight would break out in the hallway. That's pretty rare though. If there's one thing I would suggest to any parents or students reading this out there: If there's something that you don't like about North, whether it's a teacher, a club, how you're being treated, call someone and do something about it. There were so many times that my parents told me to leave a problem alone, only to make it worse. If you can make something easier, then do it.


Posted August 10, 2003

This school is so overcrowded that adults have to stand at hall intersections to control the traffic flow between classes. Instead of adding enough classrooms to support the overflowing population, our superintendant built a huge gym/entertainment complex (named after him of course) where we can have 'stars' like Jay Leno perform. Who cares!!! We want our children to receive a decent education in classrooms where there is at most a 22/1 teacher student ratio. I am also disgusted with the state's decision to test every grade. Instead of teaching at a pace where the children can actually retain the information, the teachers are forced to rush through the curriculum so that they can 'prepare' for the yearly test. This is the way that the district 'earns' it's funding. Our children are not learning anymore! They are too busy getting ready for the tests. The teachers hate what they are doing because they are frustrated that they can no longer teach creatively. They convey these feelings to the students. This is not really an environment conducive to learning so the students are losing interest. There is no more excitement in learning for the students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

552 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

552 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
Black90%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female82%
Male83%
Black60%
Asian97%
Hispanic75%
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education89%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

587 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students73%
Female69%
Male76%
Black35%
Asian82%
Hispanic50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education77%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

70%

SAT college ready

45%

Graduation rate

91%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 51%
Hispanic 9% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 9%
Black 5% 16%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1245 Old Freehold Road
Toms River, NJ 08753
Phone: (732) 505-5702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ocean Academy
Berkeley Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT