Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
We have a new Principal, JAMES RICOTTA, JR. He came to SOUTH HS IN 2014. He was the formerly Principal at BEACHWOOD ELEMENTARY. I find Mr. Ricotta, strict, compassionate & very good at his job. He continues with the news letters to parents. This is a tool I find very useful. High school students tend to let you know what's going on the day of event or worse yet the night before... reading the news letter is a strong tool for the parents, that care about their child's education. I record major events into my calendar and it gives me a hands on preparedness, that really helps. We also have electronic grade books available for all if Toms River Schools.

Toms River High - South High School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughters first year of high school south. I am very pleased by the way things are being run. she likes her teachers and everything is well organized. the principal sends out weekly updates and monthly updates which is very nice to be able to read what's going on at the school. Also the office staff is very polite and helpful.


Toms River High - South High School 2

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
we where looking in the area and was not welcomed it was a horrible day for my kids, the irony was parents and some of the local people where very un friendly

Toms River High - South High School 1

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
guidance department doesnt help with schorshops n grants help chldren with career goals i know my son doesnt feel confrtable going 2 c his guid counsler + the guidcounslers should be helping each jr N senior4schorliships n grants NOT JUST THEIR OWN CHILD, i ask 4my son 2 get schorlship help he never received it the same with my daughter a few years back Like i ws totally agnored the guiddeptant needs 2 stat doing their jobs and get grants N schorlships 4 the jrs and sniros u dont have 2 wait 2 Bcome senior 2 get a grant or schorlship it does start in their jr year, My chldren didnt receive any help even aftyer my emails to the man guidance counsler

Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted May 23, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of a junior here, I am completely satisfied with the education my son is receiving at HS South. The acedemic challenge and support is first rate, the athletic program is fair and well run. The school spirit is the best I have ever witnessed, which speaks volumes on how much the teachers and staff care about the education and welfare of the students.


Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter received a great education at South. The staff was amazing. They were always available to offer extra help, help with sending college apps, etc. There is a wide variety of activities available for the students from sports to clubs so there is something for everyone. It is the oldest HS in TR and the building is small and somewhat crowded. It is probably the most diverse student population of the TR HSs, which we liked. Overall a wonderful learning enviroment.

Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted September 02, 2009
- a student
this school has the best acedemics in this area but the hall ways could be a little bigger all in all th ebest.

Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
As a parent of a senior and a freshman, I have nothing but positive things to say about this school. The school pride and spirit is incredible. The teachers are wonderful and encouraging, and the parent involvement is second to none. If your child is not an athlete - that does not matter- there are so many other activities to join - and all of the kids support each other. As the wife of a former alumni, my husband and I moved to this section of town when my sons were little so that they could experience this great school. The kids are down to earth and friendly - there are no competitions for who has the 'best' of cars, clothes, etc. like there is in the other two Toms river High Schools. Go South!


Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted May 31, 2008
- a student
as a student that has been to every high school in toms river, the rest just can't compare. toms river high school south is the most friendly, laid back, spirited high school you will ever step in to.

Toms River High - South High School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
When my daughter had to write her college essays, they all went back to something she had recieved from being at High School SOuth. One of the essays asked her what she had to offer to her new campus and her answer, Indian Spirit that would alwyas encourage her to be involved and have an impact on the school community after all, it's not always about strictly academics. If you ask aboutt academics, I would have to say, the caliber of friends she has made have encouraged her to be an honor student in the calssroom, on the sports field and a leader in the community. In one of her essays she recounts how disappointed she is with teenagers that claim to do something risky because they are bored....she has not had one day where she has been bored during high school. There is always something to do!

Nearby schools

Toms River High - South High School
55 Hyers St, Toms River, NJ  08753
(732) 505-5738
Last modified Toms River High - South High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top