Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Toms River, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,535

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Very good school! The principal Leonard Stanziano sends a weekly news letter for scholarship events and deadlines. I have found the teachers caring and skilled. The guidance department professional and effective. The sports are great and give the students a great sence of school spirit. All in all a great high school !

Toms River High - South High School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughters first year of high school south. I am very pleased by the way things are being run. she likes her teachers and everything is well organized. the principal sends out weekly updates and monthly updates which is very nice to be able to read what's going on at the school. Also the office staff is very polite and helpful.


Toms River High - South High School 2

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
we where looking in the area and was not welcomed it was a horrible day for my kids, the irony was parents and some of the local people where very un friendly

Toms River High - South High School 1

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
guidance department doesnt help with schorshops n grants help chldren with career goals i know my son doesnt feel confrtable going 2 c his guid counsler + the guidcounslers should be helping each jr N senior4schorliships n grants NOT JUST THEIR OWN CHILD, i ask 4my son 2 get schorlship help he never received it the same with my daughter a few years back Like i ws totally agnored the guiddeptant needs 2 stat doing their jobs and get grants N schorlships 4 the jrs and sniros u dont have 2 wait 2 Bcome senior 2 get a grant or schorlship it does start in their jr year, My chldren didnt receive any help even aftyer my emails to the man guidance counsler

Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted May 23, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of a junior here, I am completely satisfied with the education my son is receiving at HS South. The acedemic challenge and support is first rate, the athletic program is fair and well run. The school spirit is the best I have ever witnessed, which speaks volumes on how much the teachers and staff care about the education and welfare of the students.


Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter received a great education at South. The staff was amazing. They were always available to offer extra help, help with sending college apps, etc. There is a wide variety of activities available for the students from sports to clubs so there is something for everyone. It is the oldest HS in TR and the building is small and somewhat crowded. It is probably the most diverse student population of the TR HSs, which we liked. Overall a wonderful learning enviroment.

Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted September 02, 2009
- a student
this school has the best acedemics in this area but the hall ways could be a little bigger all in all th ebest.

Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
As a parent of a senior and a freshman, I have nothing but positive things to say about this school. The school pride and spirit is incredible. The teachers are wonderful and encouraging, and the parent involvement is second to none. If your child is not an athlete - that does not matter- there are so many other activities to join - and all of the kids support each other. As the wife of a former alumni, my husband and I moved to this section of town when my sons were little so that they could experience this great school. The kids are down to earth and friendly - there are no competitions for who has the 'best' of cars, clothes, etc. like there is in the other two Toms river High Schools. Go South!

Toms River High - South High School 5

Posted May 31, 2008
- a student
as a student that has been to every high school in toms river, the rest just can't compare. toms river high school south is the most friendly, laid back, spirited high school you will ever step in to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Toms River High - South High School
55 Hyers Street, Toms River, NJ  08753
(732) 505-5738
Last modified Toms River High - South High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Toms River High - South High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top