Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Silver Bay Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
SIlver Bay is a great school! I attended this school myself 15 years ago. My son is now in the 1st grade and is learning so much so quickly. Mrs. Doviak is a great teacher and sends home weekly progress reports to keep us in the loop. I'm so happy my son is at such a wonderful school.

Silver Bay Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Why do you love Silver Bay Elementary School? I love Silver Bay Elemntary School because the wonderful cirriculum they have for all of the students and the teachers are really involved with teaching the kids.


Silver Bay Elementary School 3

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
My son had Mrs. Turnbach for 2nd grade. She was outstanding. My son loved her. Third grade was a different story. We are hoping for a much better 4th grade. He appears to be off to a good start. The dark haired secretary is a sweetheart. The other two leave much to be desired. The new Principal is very good. The Vice Principal can be condescending at times.

Silver Bay Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2009
- a parent
I love this school! I went to elementary school there 25 years ago and my 7 year old daughter is in first grade there! She absolutely loves the school, and loves her teacher!

Silver Bay Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2008
- a community member
I love Silver Bay It has awsome teachers im a student that went to silver bay 2 years ago i waz there for 5 years


Silver Bay Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2008
- a parent
Excellent school- very caring teachers, school nurses and principal (Mr. Pizza you will be missed!).

Silver Bay Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is in the special education program, all the teachers are wonderful and understanding! My daughter and I will miss all of you. Dawn W.

Silver Bay Elementary School 3

Posted April 14, 2004
- a parent
I am very glad to hear that a program has been instituted against bullying. It is long overdue. The bullies need consequences, and should not be overlooked. When my son approached the principal with a bullying problem, he was told that if an adult didn't see it or hear it, it didn't happen. That tells the bully, 'It's OK.' and tells my son, 'You are a liar.'. My son is out of that school now, but when a current problem arose, his councilor told me he wouldn't confide in her, why? Because he felt that he wouldn't be heard. This was the most serious problem in the school and after many discussions with the principal it was finally, reluctantly resolved with my son's class change. (With no consequences to the bullier.) After all the problems, one teacher in particular really helped inspire his new confidence. She was fantastic and understanding.


Silver Bay Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2004
- a student
I attended 3 years ago the school is awesome all the teachers are there for the kids through thick and thin no matter what! I love this school

Silver Bay Elementary School 4

Posted February 17, 2004
- a parent
We are lucky to have never experienced serious behavior or discipline problems. I disagree with the parent who feels that bullying is overlooked at the school. In fact, a new program on bullying and conflict resolution has been was begun last year with the complete support and involvement of the faculty. Students and parents are being inserviced in the skills utilized in this program and we expect great success in the near future. Do we expect this, or any program, to solve all school behavior problems? Of course not. But at this school, every problem identified is dealt with swiftly and professionally. I feel lucky to have my child attend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silver Bay Elementary School
100 Silver Bay Road, Toms River, NJ  08753
(732) 505-5880
Last modified Silver Bay Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Silver Bay Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top