Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trenton Central High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 21 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2009

I, too, graduated from Trenton High School, and like what the individual in the previous comment belives, it's not as bad a school as it is made out to be by many critics. Aside from learning how to make friends, expressing myself creatively in the diverse array of courses and extracurricular programs, playing a lead role in Les Miserables and being immersed in a student culture that helped my identity blossom, I realized that there's a beautiful flipside to every underside. Do not hesitate to send your kids here because they will be able to interact with respectable students of varying degrees of mental caliber and grow in a safe learning environment with concerned teachers. The metal detectors at every entrance and constant presence of police officers and cocaine sniffing German Shepherds help students feel safe at trenton high. 11 out of 10!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I, too, graduated from Trenton High School, and like what the individual in the previous comment belives, it's not as bad a school as it is made out to be by many critics. Aside from learning how to make friends, expressing myself creatively in the diverse array of courses and extracurricular programs, playing a lead role in Les Miserables and being immersed in a student culture that helped my identity blossom, I realized that there's a beautiful flipside to every underside. Do not hesitate to send your kids here because they will be able to interact with respectable students of varying degrees of mental caliber and grow in a safe learning environment with concerned teachers. The metal detectors at every entrance and constant presence of police officers and cocaine sniffing German Shepherds help students feel safe at Trenton High
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

Although many parents might have doubts about sending their kid to this school, it does not deserve a 1 out of 10. I, a proud African American Harvard Sophomore, attended Trenton High and survived and lived through the poor quality teaching, the multiple drive by attempts on my life, and the dangers of wearing red or blue to school. Despite the problems inherent in its educational system and approach (i.e. organization, teaching quality, school security), I believe that I had walked away with a fabulous practical skill set-Street Smarts. It's obvious that an African American Princeton High School student wouldn't last a minute in the streets outside of this school. Death and crackheads loom on every corner when the bell rings. I learned to 'hold my own,' to be 'strapped' and to 'clap back' when getting 'jumped.' 10 out of 10. I learned something real about real life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I graduated from TCHS in 2006 and TCHS is a very good school as long as students are willing to take advantage of the opportunities that are available. Alot of the students at TCHS are very intelligent and would like to advance on to college and into the workforce, however, they do not take advantage of the opportunities that are their for them. Students need to take advantage of ALL of the resources that are at TCHS. Had it not been for all the scholarships that I applied for and received from TCHS, I would not have been able to pay for college. The media and the Trenton community in general keep dwelling on the negative.TCHS has alot of potential. It is up to the students, as well as their parents, to put forth their interest.


Posted September 20, 2006

New school year, new principal, new superintendent for our district. We are very positive about the upcoming changes. The PTSA is encouraging parents to get more involved at this level with regards to college selections, test preps and working together with their kids teachers to make the high school years successful. Many opportunities at TCHS, just have to get involved and be visible. Staff and Administration need to know parents are willing to work with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

This school is terrible! My nephew went there for a year and once he transfered his scores, and overall academic proficiency has increased tenfold. Don't send your kid to TCS before looking at the test scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Trenton High has improved over the last few years but still have a ways to go. Parents should not be intidated by the outside attractions that may occur at TCHS because they can occur anywhere. Overall if your child has a strong personality they will succeed at this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2006

The school is one of the best..
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 10, 2006

I think that Trenton Central High School is a great learning institution. My son is a Junior and is doing very well. The media has shown TCHS in a very bad light. Bad things happen at every school. Your child has to be motivated to get the education that is available and to do what they need to do. There are a mirage of activities for everyones taste. The athletics are outstanding and they have a great following in the community. I am sad to say that the parental involvement is very low. It seems that a great deal of parents do not feel that it is important for them to play a role in their childs education. Its sad because some of them desperately need the encouragement. Overall, TCHS is a great institution and I am proud to say that my son is a student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

I happen to think that it is a great school. The education curriculum is very good and I am a sophomore and I have never once felt threatened there. The media makes it seem as a bad school with little or no educational value when in fact the teachers are very motivated and the students are the ones who choose not to do their work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2005

The school is a mess. The sports programs and precollege programs are some good things about it. If you really want your child to have a good education do not send your child to this school. I am a sophomore and know this. Parental involvement form 1-10 is a 3 and thats because the parents will come to the school to complain about the teachers and fight them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2005

Very fun for the students. Excellent activities and programs. Low parental involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2005

I graduated from Trenton High in 2003. The school offers so many opportunities for students to succeed. Trenton High has provided me with the necessary tools to succeed at The College of New Jersey. The schools offers to many activities for students to take a part of. Unfortunately, the media does not awlways highlight the success stories of Trenton High students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 28, 2005

This school provides a very basic education, in a very dangerous enviroment. The staff for the most part is very un-motivated, and the students have little to no supervision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

The school is facinating my child loves it here. She is in a lot of activities at the school. And she exceeds in all of her classes. I like the way you keep your suporting parents up to date with safty and education and activities. Keep up the good work. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Special education39%
General education82%
English language learners27%
Non-migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former27%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students35%
Female32%
Male39%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged30%
Special educationn/a
General education50%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant35%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education10%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

52%

SAT college ready

3%

Graduation rate

51%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 16%
Hispanic 41% 22%
White 2% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Chambers Street
Trenton, NJ 08609
Phone: (609) 278-7260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Newgrange School
Trenton, NJ



The Garvey School
Trenton, NJ


Trenton Catholic Upper School
Hamilton Township, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT