Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Trenton, NJ

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Trenton Central High School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Trenton Central High School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
I, too, graduated from Trenton High School, and like what the individual in the previous comment belives, it's not as bad a school as it is made out to be by many critics. Aside from learning how to make friends, expressing myself creatively in the diverse array of courses and extracurricular programs, playing a lead role in Les Miserables and being immersed in a student culture that helped my identity blossom, I realized that there's a beautiful flipside to every underside. Do not hesitate to send your kids here because they will be able to interact with respectable students of varying degrees of mental caliber and grow in a safe learning environment with concerned teachers. The metal detectors at every entrance and constant presence of police officers and cocaine sniffing German Shepherds help students feel safe at trenton high. 11 out of 10!


Trenton Central High School 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
I, too, graduated from Trenton High School, and like what the individual in the previous comment belives, it's not as bad a school as it is made out to be by many critics. Aside from learning how to make friends, expressing myself creatively in the diverse array of courses and extracurricular programs, playing a lead role in Les Miserables and being immersed in a student culture that helped my identity blossom, I realized that there's a beautiful flipside to every underside. Do not hesitate to send your kids here because they will be able to interact with respectable students of varying degrees of mental caliber and grow in a safe learning environment with concerned teachers. The metal detectors at every entrance and constant presence of police officers and cocaine sniffing German Shepherds help students feel safe at Trenton High

Trenton Central High School 5

Posted February 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Trenton Central High School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2009
- a parent
Although many parents might have doubts about sending their kid to this school, it does not deserve a 1 out of 10. I, a proud African American Harvard Sophomore, attended Trenton High and survived and lived through the poor quality teaching, the multiple drive by attempts on my life, and the dangers of wearing red or blue to school. Despite the problems inherent in its educational system and approach (i.e. organization, teaching quality, school security), I believe that I had walked away with a fabulous practical skill set-Street Smarts. It's obvious that an African American Princeton High School student wouldn't last a minute in the streets outside of this school. Death and crackheads loom on every corner when the bell rings. I learned to 'hold my own,' to be 'strapped' and to 'clap back' when getting 'jumped.' 10 out of 10. I learned something real about real life.


Trenton Central High School 1

Posted January 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Trenton Central High School 0
no rating

Posted September 11, 2008
- a community member
I graduated from TCHS in 2006 and TCHS is a very good school as long as students are willing to take advantage of the opportunities that are available. Alot of the students at TCHS are very intelligent and would like to advance on to college and into the workforce, however, they do not take advantage of the opportunities that are their for them. Students need to take advantage of ALL of the resources that are at TCHS. Had it not been for all the scholarships that I applied for and received from TCHS, I would not have been able to pay for college. The media and the Trenton community in general keep dwelling on the negative.TCHS has alot of potential. It is up to the students, as well as their parents, to put forth their interest.

Trenton Central High School 4

Posted September 20, 2006
- a parent
New school year, new principal, new superintendent for our district. We are very positive about the upcoming changes. The PTSA is encouraging parents to get more involved at this level with regards to college selections, test preps and working together with their kids teachers to make the high school years successful. Many opportunities at TCHS, just have to get involved and be visible. Staff and Administration need to know parents are willing to work with them.


Trenton Central High School 1

Posted September 06, 2006
- a parent
This school is terrible! My nephew went there for a year and once he transfered his scores, and overall academic proficiency has increased tenfold. Don't send your kid to TCS before looking at the test scores!

Trenton Central High School 4

Posted May 03, 2006
- a former student
Trenton High has improved over the last few years but still have a ways to go. Parents should not be intidated by the outside attractions that may occur at TCHS because they can occur anywhere. Overall if your child has a strong personality they will succeed at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trenton Central High School
400 Chambers Street, Trenton, NJ  08609
(609) 278-7260
Last modified Trenton Central High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Trenton Central High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top