Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grace A Dunn Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 55 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

As a student at Grace A. Dunn middle school, I have experienced many different subjects like the students running around crazy or how loud they get. The school has a small portion of students that behave well and these students also get good grades. The other students at this school behave like animals, they run around, they are loud, and some dis- respect their teachers and classmates. The school is great and has a lot of potential to help these students achieve their goals. This is why I rate Dunn as 4 stars. * * * *


Posted April 26, 2014

This school is terrible. Students run around the school like it's a playground. And they don't even get punished for it. There was also a student who got stabbed with a pencil by another student until they bled. The students are horrible influences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

This school is a complete disaster. The students are totally out of control & the staff have no idea what to do about it. Students get jumped & bullied on a regular basis. The disciplinary issues take center stage instead of learning. I panicked when it was my child's time to go there. I had to enroll him in private school because I could not imagine him attending this school. As a parent, I suggest you do whatever it takes to keep your child out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

This is a truly great school I give it 5 stars. My teachers were very persistent, they would never give up on a student no matter how ignorant a student was


Posted November 20, 2008

My son had attened Dunn and the school system did not work well with placing him in a class that will meet his needs. I also had to move to PA and now he is doing well with his IEP's and just meeting his needs. For Trenton to be the capital state of NJ you would think they would want the best for our children. Its just has gotten worse and no wonder why our future generation looks for the streets to take care of them. Because the people that should make a difference in there lives far as teachers could care less if they learn. I send my kids to school to learn not to be just placed in a class. I hope that the school board gets there act together and do something about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I love this school i learned alot at this school and no i'm doing better than i did before i come 2 that school i just wanna say thank u dunn middle school for help me and teaching me what i need 2 know
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

This school is okay. But the teachers are so ignorant. They give you a textbook and tell you here do the work, and when your failing they say you should have tried harder.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2008

This school is so nice no problems and the principal is the best one there is she takes care of the children like her own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I think Dunn is terrible. They do not work one on one with children that need help.I provided my email address and three different PH numbers the first week of school and asked my son's teachers to keep me posted if he falls behind in his work.No one notified me he was failing.I found out he was failing @ the Parent/Teacher Conference. I recently moved to PA just so my son could be in a better school district.He has been in PA schools for 2 months and he is passing all his classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
27%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students30%
Female36%
Male25%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Special educationn/a
General education37%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant30%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former17%

Math

All Students39%
Female38%
Male40%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Special educationn/a
General education47%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant39%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former17%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students22%
Female23%
Male21%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White38%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Special educationn/a
General education29%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant22%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students25%
Female25%
Male25%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
White31%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Special educationn/a
General education33%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant25%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students46%
Female52%
Male40%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special education15%
General education58%
English language learners11%
Not migrant46%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students27%
Female26%
Male28%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Special educationn/a
General education34%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant27%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students39%
Female31%
Male45%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Special education15%
General education47%
English language learners19%
Not migrant39%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 22%
Black 29% 16%
White 3% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Addie Daniels-lane

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Dayton Street
Trenton, NJ 08610
Phone: (609) 656-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Angels School
Trenton, NJ


Holy Cross School
Trenton, NJ





Newgrange School
Trenton, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT