Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emily C Reynolds Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 73 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

It's my child's first year at Reynolds. I have nothing but positive things to say about the school. The teachers are challenging, and do a great job teaching. I'm happy and my child loves going to school:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school is great I love it. Great experience lots of friends great education, benefitted went here last two years now I'm at St. Anthony's aka trenton catholic academy in Hamilton it's was awesome and I'm glad that i met people that I I'm still are great friends with.(they all go to Steinert,and Nottingham,and HHW) but still it was great. Crockett and Grice are good to but this school was better. When I grow up I'm going to let my child go here. It was amazing


Posted August 30, 2012

Great Experience at Reynolds. My son just completed 6th grade, most of his teachers were excellent. They really cared about the students and were very good teachers. Their no bullying policy is wonderful. I would recommend it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

i go to this school its a great school for children and i want ur child to go here too have a great day and good bye
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2009

This year was my first year at Reynolds and I felt accepted and understood the minute I walk in the door; I loved that feeling! The teachers are all very nice and so are the other students. I love that the GT program is my language class now instead of being pulled out of class. This is cool because it's more challenging, which is always good, and my classmates are also all geniuses. In every class I had this year the teacher made me feel safe, accepted for who I am, understood, and most importantly like I belonged. Reynolds is the BEST school I've ever been to and I love it! Also at Reynolds we are all really like a huge family which is a superb feeling that I've never felt in school before, and I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

It is my 1st year at reynolds. And I love it. The teachers are very helpful and Food is soo good! I feel very grown up because I enjoy bieng able to make my own desicions with the help of my counsler.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2007

I think it's a great school. My child is challenged and learns a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I attend this school and I like it. I enjoy waking up every morining to come to school. I like the variety of extracurricular activities in reynolds. I can't wait to go back in September!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2007

This school is average at best. My son gets by on little effort and I don't see anything challenging about the academic program. There is very little, almost no extracurricular activities. There is a fairly active PTA, but the school administrators are not inviting parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

My child has attended this school for almost 2 years. I have to say that although I think a few teachers should be replaced - most teachers and all Administration are wonderful. They try to understand problems and are willing to work with your child to maintain their grades and character. This school strives for excellence and encourages your child to reach farther than he/she expectes. My sincere thanks for all your hard work as I can't imagine the patience it takes to care for over 1,000 students and make each one feel special.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students63%
Female66%
Male60%
Black49%
Asian69%
Hispanic63%
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special educationn/a
General education69%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students76%
Female83%
Male71%
Black67%
Asian88%
Hispanic68%
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education31%
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students60%
Female68%
Male50%
Black49%
Asian56%
Hispanic31%
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
General education69%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant60%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
Black33%
Asian56%
Hispanic47%
White64%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
General education64%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant56%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students84%
Female89%
Male79%
Black72%
Asian88%
Hispanic72%
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
Black44%
Asian78%
Hispanic53%
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
General education77%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant68%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
Black58%
Asian78%
Hispanic70%
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education46%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 51%
Black 16% 16%
Hispanic 13% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2145 Yardville Hamilton Sq
Trenton, NJ 08690
Phone: (609) 631-4162

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Gregory The Great
Hamilton Township, NJ


Faith Christian School
Hamilton Township, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT