Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Klockner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 10 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 10, 2010

The school feels like a family, and I feel like everyone cares for every child in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

There is a real sense of community and I feel everyone really cares about my child and his education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My children get a good education and I have been able to establish a good relationship with each of their teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

The staff of this school are great listeners and feel they really care about our kids. Let's not forget about the parents, I have met some very nice moms and dads, I look forward to taking my kids to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Because of the way the staff help everyone to feel at home
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

The access to, and dedication of, the teachers makes this school a wonderful place for my child to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Just want to respond to the Parent review of 2/26 about Math and not being ready for 6th grade at Crockett. The Math program being used at Klockner is Math Expressions and you can view the program here: http://www.eduplace.com/math/mthexp/ This program is relatively new - so it may not have been in use when that parent's child was at Klockner. But this program in use currently teaches division in third grade and fractions (needed for division) in first grade. So this problem has likely been corrected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

After my child graduated from Klockner to Crockett we were told by the Math Department at Crockett that my child along with a group of students from Klockner were not taught what they needed to know to be prepared for 6th grade math. They said it was going to take them a whole year to get them caught up and didn't know how they were going to have the time to teach them what they needed to go on to 7th grade math. My child was an honor roll student now we are forced to have our child tutored thanks to some of the underqualified math teachers at Klockner that need teachers themselves brought in to help them to teach math... (fact). Apparently school administration just doesn't care. They didn't even teach them division until 5th grade. Check out their NJASK scores!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

my family had an amazing 9 years at klockner school. We got all the support we ever needed and then some. both of my girls are excelling in school . thanks to the teachers at klockner school. everyone should feel lucky to attend klockner. what a wonderful pta!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

My son has attended for three years and I've been very satisfied. Academics are appropriately rigorous. The math program is indeed excellent, introducing concepts at the right time and promoting understanding instead of memorization. Every teacher I've met has been involved, caring, and quick to respond when anything needed to be addressed. Now, I have a typical kid with no discipline problems, so I don't know about how they deal with serious discipline issues. I know there's a faction of parents who were there when the current principal was new, and dislike her -- it sounds like gossip to me rather than legitimate concerns. My only issue with the school would be that it is an older building -- historic, in fact -- and doesn't have a very convenient area for drop-off. But the kids have a huge fenced playground w/a big field to play in. No axe to grind here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

It's really disturbing to see the poor reviews for Klockner, because I have found the school to be excellent. The facilities could use some upgrades and updates, but the academically, it's on par with all the other schools in the district. The math program (which was new this year) was top notch. The reading program was very good, and all the 'specials' were really fun for my daughter. The PTA does a great job fundraising and really bringing the school together as a community at various events. The principal has been very responsive to issues we wanted addressed, and the staff all genuinely seem to care about my daughter's success. For the other reviews - please note how they lacked the specifics I have stated here. They spoke in very general terms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I am sick every morning that I have to drop my child off at this school. This school is a total disgrace and it is nothing but a horrible experience for the past 2 years. I encourage anyone who is in this school district if you love your child please enroll in private schooling or move!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

This has been the worst year in this school. We had such high hopes for this year. This school has let our family, most importantly, our son, down. This school offers no support for your child or the parents. We have tried to work with this school, the teacher, and the principal to no avail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Horrible, horrible, horrible! This school has been nothing but a nightmare for my son. The teachers are not very helpful unless your child is a 'model student' and the principal runs the school like a business. Let kids be kids. We are moving just to get away from Klockner. I want my children to enjoy going to school and getting an education. I agree, take it off the map!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

My child was never free there was almost a whole ton of homework. and there is no safety or dicipline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

Overall - Klockner School should be taken off the map. There is an extreme lack of communication between teachers/administrators/parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

We have had 4 generations of my family going to Klockner School. The best school there is around. The PTA also does a wonderful job working with the school and in helping the children enhance their achievements for the future and well being. I am a 'PROUD' grandparent of 2 students now attending this fine school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students46%
Female69%
Male15%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
General education47%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant46%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students44%
Female42%
Male45%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
General education50%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students49%
Female52%
Male44%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special educationn/a
General education53%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant49%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students64%
Female73%
Male53%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education70%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students80%
Female87%
Male71%
Black63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students39%
Female50%
Male33%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
General education48%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant39%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students61%
Female64%
Male59%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant61%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 51%
Black 31% 16%
Hispanic 27% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Sharon Young

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Klockner Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08619
Phone: (609) 890-3747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pace Cs Of Hamilton
Hamilton Twp, NJ






Trenton Catholic Upper School
Hamilton Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT