Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Union City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $232,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

SFA is such an Amazing school! We couldn't be happier with our sons development both academically as well as socially. The principal is what every parent wants in leadership and the teachers go above & beyond for each student. The Sisters add the perfect touch to heart of the school. My son is ahead of friends in public school and he is a lot more disciplined as well, we have SFA to thank for that! We've been here for 5 years and we couldn't be happier. We are all proud to call SFA our home. One thing I wish it was a bit more tech savvy. They can update the website a bit more and maybe add teachers pages etc to find out what each grade is up to and the like. Would be nice to see homework posted in the rare occasion a child forgets his pad. I've seen other school websites with teachers pages and like the idea, But that is minor flaw ;-) THANK YOU SFA for all that you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

Considering this is suppose to be a Catholic school , pne would presume that it would welcome all of God's children. As well , I would say that the school's mission statement or / principal's letter statement which states that their staff recognizes the individuality of every child and strives to encourage self-esteem based upon concrete achievement and progress and that they develop and nurture the unique talents of each child is totally a bogus statement. I would sincerely state that they have a very selective characteristic of choosing only certain students to be registered at St Francis. They do not accept al of God's children, especially if the child may need extra help or may be more challenge able education wise. Experience based upon registering and evaluation. Mission statement should be changed. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Wonderful school. Focus in academic and religious values!! The teachers and Ms Savage are excellent!! I am very happy and thankful that my son is in SFA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Best investment ever made! My daughter is in Pre-k and already showing signs of improvement in her social skills. Pre-k and she can already ready, write, and has an outstanding verbal skills. Ms Savage is wonderful always around and knows each child by name very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

St. Francis is outstanding. Ms. Savage is a terrific principal--present, engaged and responsive. The Sisters add to all aspects of school life--prayer, worship, social and academic. There are over 10 sisters engaged in the life of the school. The faculty is smart, stable, experienced and dedicated to Catholic education and SFA. They work hard to challenge the students. Ample time is spent on the fundamentals of reading, writing and math. There are smaller sections for each of these areas. There are regular opportunities for worship and the sacraments. And the extracurricular program is beyond what one would expect in an elementary school. There is a band and instrumental instruction. Forensics, choir, basketball, karate and various academic bowls are all options for students. SFA models all that is good about Catholic education. The high school placement is excellent and students are well prepared to succeed beyond 8th grade. This is a school to be replicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

Our son has been going there for 2 years. The staff is really attentive and focused on what matters, his education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

Congratulations on your Golden anniversary SFA! Let's have 50 more years of fine Franciscan education available for all in hudson county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

My children came from another school that was not providing the appropriate curriculum. When I first came to SFA's Open House several years ago, there was no doubt in my mind that SFA was the right place for my children. Today, my children are excellent students. I can't ask for more. I have a child graduating next year and another in two years. I agree 100% with the last reviewer. Coming to SFA was the best decision I ever made. The principal, teachers, sisters, staff, and maintenance are top of the line. I am also a proud volunteer. I have been participating for many years and would encourage anyone who has the time to do so as well. It's not only a benefit to the school, it is a huge benefit to your children. The children truly look forward to your presence there. My children sure do! Disagree w/ 10/23/08 reviewer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

Coming to St. Francis Academy was the best decision I ever made. Once my children graduate from the school they will be prepared for all the challenges that lie ahead. Thumbs up for SFA! Principal, President, Teachers, Staff, Franciscan Sisters, Parents' Guild, and the Curriculum are superb!!! At SFA we are a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

Saint Francis Academy has not been a great experience for my kids. Although my child spent 8 years in the school from pre-school, my family is still finding it difficult to adjust. Everyone seems nice from outside but only God knows what's going on from the inside. I was a personal disappointing experience for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

SFA is the best! Celebrating it's 50th Year this year as one of Hudson County's Top Elementary School. I have three son's who graduated from SFA and I can't thank them enough for the love and care from their teachers and the foundation for a lifetime of learning. Go tigers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

St. Francis is the best school I found for my children. The children are in a very fine and structured environment with lots of discipline. The teachers great. The principal is always around and very involved with her students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The leadership and cooperation between parents, teachers and especially the principal is extra ordinary. The love and support the children receive becomes more important than academics alone. At St. Francis Academics comes hand in hand with socialalizing. And for this the children strive to do better. The amount of High School scholarships offered to the children here is very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 22%
White 33% 51%
Two or more races 9% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
Black 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Central Avenue
Union City, NJ 07087
Phone: (201) 863-4112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Miftaahul Uloom School
Union City, NJ


Mother Seton School
Union City, NJ




Emerson Middle School
Union City, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT