Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Union City, NJ
Students enrolled: 275
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Francis Academy 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
SFA is such an Amazing school! We couldn't be happier with our sons development both academically as well as socially. The principal is what every parent wants in leadership and the teachers go above & beyond for each student. The Sisters add the perfect touch to heart of the school. My son is ahead of friends in public school and he is a lot more disciplined as well, we have SFA to thank for that! We've been here for 5 years and we couldn't be happier. We are all proud to call SFA our home. One thing I wish it was a bit more tech savvy. They can update the website a bit more and maybe add teachers pages etc to find out what each grade is up to and the like. Would be nice to see homework posted in the rare occasion a child forgets his pad. I've seen other school websites with teachers pages and like the idea, But that is minor flaw ;-) THANK YOU SFA for all that you do.

St Francis Academy 1

Posted July 23, 2013
- a parent
Considering this is suppose to be a Catholic school , pne would presume that it would welcome all of God's children. As well , I would say that the school's mission statement or / principal's letter statement which states that their staff recognizes the individuality of every child and strives to encourage self-esteem based upon concrete achievement and progress and that they develop and nurture the unique talents of each child is totally a bogus statement. I would sincerely state that they have a very selective characteristic of choosing only certain students to be registered at St Francis. They do not accept al of God's children, especially if the child may need extra help or may be more challenge able education wise. Experience based upon registering and evaluation. Mission statement should be changed. Submitted by a parent


St Francis Academy 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school. Focus in academic and religious values!! The teachers and Ms Savage are excellent!! I am very happy and thankful that my son is in SFA.

St Francis Academy 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Best investment ever made! My daughter is in Pre-k and already showing signs of improvement in her social skills. Pre-k and she can already ready, write, and has an outstanding verbal skills. Ms Savage is wonderful always around and knows each child by name very impressive.

St Francis Academy 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
St. Francis is outstanding. Ms. Savage is a terrific principal--present, engaged and responsive. The Sisters add to all aspects of school life--prayer, worship, social and academic. There are over 10 sisters engaged in the life of the school. The faculty is smart, stable, experienced and dedicated to Catholic education and SFA. They work hard to challenge the students. Ample time is spent on the fundamentals of reading, writing and math. There are smaller sections for each of these areas. There are regular opportunities for worship and the sacraments. And the extracurricular program is beyond what one would expect in an elementary school. There is a band and instrumental instruction. Forensics, choir, basketball, karate and various academic bowls are all options for students. SFA models all that is good about Catholic education. The high school placement is excellent and students are well prepared to succeed beyond 8th grade. This is a school to be replicated.


St Francis Academy 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
Our son has been going there for 2 years. The staff is really attentive and focused on what matters, his education.

St Francis Academy 4

Posted July 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St Francis Academy 1

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St Francis Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
Congratulations on your Golden anniversary SFA! Let's have 50 more years of fine Franciscan education available for all in hudson county.

St Francis Academy 5

Posted February 15, 2009
- a parent
My children came from another school that was not providing the appropriate curriculum. When I first came to SFA's Open House several years ago, there was no doubt in my mind that SFA was the right place for my children. Today, my children are excellent students. I can't ask for more. I have a child graduating next year and another in two years. I agree 100% with the last reviewer. Coming to SFA was the best decision I ever made. The principal, teachers, sisters, staff, and maintenance are top of the line. I am also a proud volunteer. I have been participating for many years and would encourage anyone who has the time to do so as well. It's not only a benefit to the school, it is a huge benefit to your children. The children truly look forward to your presence there. My children sure do! Disagree w/ 10/23/08 reviewer.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Francis Academy
1601 Central Avenue, Union City, NJ  07087
(201) 863-4112
Last modified St Francis Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Francis Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top