Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 21 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2013

Washington School has a strong PTA, devoted to the excellence for our student body. Washington's students excel academically and are well-behaved.


Posted May 30, 2013

Wonderful students and excellent Principal. Nice area of town, safety first school. Lovely landscaping and play area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 19, 2010

The most horrific experience of our lives! If your child is healthy, he/she will do fine in this or any other school. However, if your child has moderate special needs, please consider another school. The principal is immature and inept, and now that Jeranek has been gone for several years the school did not meet AYP. School will likely continue to decline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I love washington school..I have one child there, and one who is a graduate!..I am looking foward to my little one starting there as well. This school has a great family atmosphere in addition to the excellent teachers and prinicpal!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I am a proud mother of three sons who all go to Washington school and I am so pleased and thankful for the teachers and the education that my children have received. Teachers, as well as parents, are very involved in enhancing the learning experience and creating a positive environment condusive to learning. Philanthropy is ingrained in the school's philosophy and all the children get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I am a parent of a child in Washington School. I have been more than pleased with his education, and with the excellent extracurricular activities (Heritage Night, etc.) provided, as well as the promotion of civic duties. I have found the new principal, Mr. Hoyt, to be intelligent as well as professional. I have found his insight to be on the mark, and believe Washington School will prosper under his direction. There are many parents involved in the school, and that makes all the difference. It is my duty as a parent to foster respect in my children, and it is my experience that Washington School reinforces that. I understand that educators have changed over the years, with unions and contracts taking over, but that does not apply to every teacher. All in all, it is my responsibility to raise my children, and the school system to educate ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Washington is an excellent school and the district attracts families because of its reputation. Yes, there are over-crowded classrooms (28 kids in K'garden) and yes, we miss the old principal Mr. Jeranek (let's allow the new man to grow into the role; true, his letters home aren't impressive); still, our experience of the teachers and the other kids is very positive. The remark about the PTA being a social club is totally off the mark. W. is a great school because of the awesome effort the parents put into the school. Two years ago an entire computer lab was given to the school from money raised by the parents. Activities such as math night and heritage night draw crowds. Most parents belong to the PTA. I'm proud of sending my children to public schools of this caliber, and I consider us lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

I am not only a parent, but I am a former student of Washington school. I think we are blessed to have the wonderful school we have. I have had one positive experience after another! The teachers are awesome, the office staff is knowledgeable, and the principal is working hard to continue our history of excellence! I believe our PTA, parents and staff work together in an amazing daily effort to provide the students with the best possible education and special events. While a student at Washington, I learned to love reading, writing, how to value education, great citizenship and how to be an asset to my community. I truly believe my children have been taught the same. Washington School isn't just bricks and mortar, it is a home away from home for our students, filled with a secondary family!! I am proud to be an alumni, pta member, and parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I think Washington is a great school, when it comes to education. BUT the teachers and staff do not value the parents as equal partners. Now the school has a new principal and he seems to agree with this approach. The letters that come home are very condescending and the parents are spoken to as if they are children. The parents are NEVER consulted. The PTA is a social club for a select few. Your child will receive a great education, but he or she will learn NOTHING about how to respect others and treat everyone with dignity and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

My daughter attends Washington School. She in Kindergarten and was also there for the half day Pre-K program. The school is fantastic. Mr Jeranek was a great principal. Now that he is gone I am not sure what will become of the school I hope that the new principal will be as in involved as Mr.Jeranek was and that he continues to maintain a progressive environment in this elementary school for our children. The PTA and parents are all very involved in day to day school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

My daughter attended washington school. Wow....What a great experience it was! the principal and staff and parents worked as a unite and the results proved rewarding. My daughter is in 10th grade and has made the high honor roll which washington school played a major role.......Thanks so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

Our daughter entered full day kindergarten at this school in the beginning of the fall 05-06 school year. We were mortified to learn that she was one of 29 students in a class to be taught by one teacher & aide. The other 3 kindergarten classes in this school were no better. The teachers resorted to yelling almost constantly to get the children's attention. Our child was overwhelmed by the number of classmates & the volume of noise within the classroom. When the principal was approched regarding this overcrowding, the parents were told that 29 is the maximum limit for the class, & that there was nothing that could be done to improve the situation. After two days, we switched our daughter to a private full day kindergarten at a YMCA, where she currently is happy & thriving as one of 16 students taught by 1 teacher & 1 aide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Washington school has a wonderful principal and support staff. Their involvement with charitable organizations is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

What can I say about this great school my son reads better than me and he is only in the second grade there are the best I hope it never changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students81%
Female81%
Male80%
Black73%
Asian85%
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Special education63%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students89%
Female81%
Male93%
Black87%
Asian92%
Hispanic85%
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Special education63%
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students53%
Female56%
Male50%
Black48%
Asian55%
Hispanic44%
White59%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Special educationn/a
General education61%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
Black91%
Asian91%
Hispanic76%
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special education63%
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
Black95%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Special education88%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 51%
Hispanic 25% 22%
Black 16% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Washington Avenue
Union, NJ 07083
Phone: (908) 851-6460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sherman Elementary School
Roselle Park, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT