Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Union

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $260,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2011

It is a culturally diverse Catholic School which is always a plus. The technology section of the schools like Smart boards, update computers "WAS" appealing part. But there are so many things left undone such as some teachers take the bullying situation, even the Principal have not really done anything. It is very alarming yet left in the dark. Such a same. I just hope the NEW NJ ANTIBULLYING LAW can shed some light on them. You can clearly see favoritism on certain families and students from both teachers and principal. I really think they need fresh ideas and curriculum to put the school into another level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

The school doesn't recognize students for their work, but they do recognize the parent's work. They only reward students whose parents spend most of their time working at the school. Scholarships are not won by students with the best grades, and only certain people get into Magnet High School.


Posted May 11, 2010

The school's purpose of education is not only to instruct but to allow the student to assimilate and apply as much learning as possible. In accepting the individuality of each student, the instructional program at Holy Spirit is individualized within the limits of our resources. They believe that how the child learns is just as important as what he or she learns. Therefore, whenever and wherever it is possible, instruction is given as the child's abilities and needs dictate.


Posted May 11, 2010

Holy Spirit School is a wonderful school. Not all schools are well equiped with Technology, a faculty that is consistant and caring for the children. Students graduate and go to the best High schools. It seems they have a high percentage of students that are accepted into the prestigious Magnet High Schools.and private Catholic High Schools. These students go on to very good colleges. Lacking extra cirricular activities is the responsibility of the parents. If they are not involved at a school it is not offered.


Posted February 7, 2010

I regret chosen this school for my daughter. I will take her out next year. The curriculum is weak, the students have too many days off, they have to stay on the cold to get pick up. The school is not well orgaize. Not enough people working on the school. The kids are served cold pizza and the principal said, she could not warmed pizza for all theses children. To me their focus are only collecting money. Parents, review give you a head up. I wished I investigated the school deeper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

i love holy spirit!!its the only school i have ever been to!!! the teachers and principal are awesome!!!im excited to go to school everyday!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2007

Holy Sprit is like a fishbowl. I sent my daughter there, and now I really regret it. The academics are just horribal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

This school has been a big disheartenment. Sending my child here was a colossal baffle. The sports and academic programs were alarming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

This school is excellent,. They are so organized.I especially love how they are so internet friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2005

Holy spirit provides an awesome learning environment at a great price!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 29% 9%
Hispanic 25% 22%
Black 9% 16%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

970 Suburban Road
Union, NJ 07083
Phone: (908) 687-8415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT