Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Ellison School

Private | PK-8 | 162 students

We are best known for academics & small classes.

 
 

Living in Vineland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $178,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,115.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2013

The Elliso School has been an amazing experience for our children who are about to enter their third year. My oldest is entering second grade and has been reading "The Chronicles of Narnia" and is excelling academically thanks to the fantastic teachers and learning environment provided over the last two year. My youngest who will be entering Pre-K 4 is also excelling and maturing rapidly. The staff is caring and know all of the children by name. The school welcomes parent involvement and encourages amazing projects like a weather balloon launch to near space. I am to give my absolute highest recommendation without any reservation to anyone who has a child ages 2 to eighth grade. Pick Ellison, you won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

everything about it is great the principal knows every student on a personal level. The classes are so small that the teachers can easily pinpoint what a student needs to work on, all in a safe environment, Each class is like a family and they are often sad when they leave
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I have three children in Ellison. I can't believe how good the education is. Comparably good schools usually cost twice as much. My children feel like they belong in a family. Every day they are excited to go to class. They are far ahead of their peers in public school or catholic school. My 7 yr old is reading at the 6th grade level, and my 11 yr old is reading highschool level and doing algebra! The new kids who join Ellison seem to be accepted easily into their peer group and to get up to speed academically rather rapidly. I do not know what some of the negative comments are all about. They seem very bizarre and not in touch with reality. I mean security? Anyone who visits the school just once will understand how good their security is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Ellison is not a very good school. The academics are not the best. The security is not very high. I would recommend, that if you have kids in Ellison, to pull them out as soon as possible. My son wasn't having a very good time there, and now that he's in another school, he's doing much better. His grades have gone up, and he's having a better time there than he ever did at hellison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

With 16 security cameras and a swipe card entrance, security is amazing. The new facility is technologically advanced and gorgeous. The teachers and students love it. Ellison is better than ever and an excellent choice for any child in Pre-K - 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

not great with poor security. wouldn't recommend it...


Posted June 8, 2007

Ellison was a great school when my child was very young. To say the least we have transferred to another private school in the area. Over the past several years the school has changed drastically. The caring, loving, and high academic standards are no longer a part of the Ellison Family. Upon transferring my child, we found that Ellison lacked in teaching proper spelling, english, handwriting, and math. With much work, my child is now at the top of the class at the new school. I would not recommend Ellison for a child over 5th grade. Once the transition to the Upper School occurs, the child suffers. The whole atmosphere of the school is not what it use to be. The greed for money has consumed the staff, and entire school atmosphere. My child is much happier at the new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

Advanced academic programs. Excellent parental involvement. Small class sizes (8-15 approx.) Extracurricular activities available along with a great sense of community. Caring and dedicated staff. Negative: In some cases limited resources and supplies. Lack of computers. In some cases, lack of bussing. Expensive tuition and fundraising pressure. Discipline problems are still present even though the class sizes are small. Overall, I am very happy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

I have two children in Ellison and a 3rd is to start soon. My children were shy initially, but being at Ellison have made them less so and they have much more confidence. Ellison gives attention to academics as well as developing your child's self esteem. The teachers are wonderful and all the teachers in the school know every child in the school even if they do not teach them directly. It truely is a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

Our daughter was very shy and introverted. We knew that she would not excel in an environment that did not give her individualized attention and support. The only choice for our family in the city of Vineland was The Ellison School. Since starting in PreK3 two years ago, she has not only come out of her shell, but has soared with confidence. The curriculum is superb, the faculty excellent and the school has become an extension of our family. We could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Our son is in PK4 and we are thrilled with our decision to be here. My husband is a public school educator and after carefully considering all of our options last year, Ellison was the only choice. Our son gets lots of individualized attention in a class of just 13 children, that is with a teacher and an aide. We want to prepare our son for the future and what better way than to teach him the skills and habits he needs to succeed in life at an early age. He has been learning Spanish, Computers, Art, and Music since last yr in PK3. And, best of all when I drop him off in the morning I feel like I am leaving him with family! If you care about where your child is really going in life, The Ellison experience may be for you, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

I have 2 kids here. All I can say is that sending them to Ellison is the best thing I could have done for them. The teachers are wonderful and work with the kids. They treat the kids with respect and love. The school is like a family. You are going to have problems, we have, but like any family problems are worked out. We've been here since 1998 when my sone started Pre-K 3. I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else. They learn Spanish, computers and so much more even at that age. My kids don't want to go to another school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 9%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Black 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 22%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Caroline C. Chapman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (856) 794-8361

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Augustine Prep
Our Lady of Mercy Academy
Vineland High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1017 South Spring Road
Vineland, NJ 08361
Website: Click here
Phone: (856) 691-8872

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pauline J Petway
Vineland, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT