Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern High School

Public | 11-12 & ungraded | 5 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

We moved to Voorhees, as my husband got a job in the town. Before moving, our main concern was our kids education. We researched on the high school as my daughter was entering in high. We found the Eastern High School's ratings very good. Frankly, as my daughter started in the school, slowly and gradually, we came to know wonderful things about the school. I liked the idea to select your own honors subjects at the high school. If the student has capabilities, they can select honors from the very beginning. The teachers are exceptionally doing great job to encourage more and more students to work hard and move forward. Each student is given excellent support by the teachers and counselors. With regards to the extra curricular activities, school has loads of such. Even it was very last moment admission, my daughter was given all the possible options to select extra curricular activities she would like to get in. She selected "Drumline". The training for the drumline was regorous. The instructors worked very hard. As a result of the same, the school won 1st position in its level. In the end I want to say, that "East or West - Eatern High is the Best."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

My school is one of the best schools in America, I love the teachers and the sports they do offer at Eastern
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2013

As an Eastern alumni and young professional I can't thank my Eastern enough for helping develop me into the person I am today. I had a great relationship with most of my teachers and appreciate the time they dedicated to my education (as well as some laughs shared during and after class). My best life example showcasing the excellence of Eastern showed itself during my freshman year of college. I found that I was much more competent than my peers at completing tasks and adhering to standard submission based standards like MLA formatting and technology/multimedia presentations (I was NOT an honor student while attending Eastern).
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2013

I was a student here and my experience at this school was not pleasant. There is a lot of bullying in this school and there needs to be more teachers in the hallways to monitor what students are doing. in addition, the school is extremely overcrowded. some teachers at eastern are not flexible in their teaching and act almost as immature as the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2010

horrible school. they try to make all kids the best and smartest but just arent cut for doing it. the staff is horrible and the kids in this school arent intelligent at all also sports is one of the worst things in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

Only focus is on kids who PLAN on attending college. No 'basic' curriculum, all 'accelerated' and 'honors'. In my opinion, this sets kids who are not as highly skilled, up for failure. Classrooms are overcrowded. Has excessive amount of administration when there should be more teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

As a parent of a freshman, i find that there are many teachers who cannot teach their subject matter and should not be teaching. the administratiion is unresponsive to parent requests to have these teachers observed and mentored. also, there have been many fights (girls) in the hallway . i didn't expect this .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I currently have a student in the school and one that graduated a few years ago. My experience has been that there are some teachers and staff that know how to do things one way and do not adapt to student needs or situations. Flexibility does not see to be their strong suite. If you are the best of the best this is probably an ok school. Some where in the middle you might be in trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

Some teachers are terrible at what they do. Just go through the day and dont care about how well they teach. Others are to picky and are teaching a honors level english at the same pace as a accelerated english. They teach part of a lesson and then on tests and quzes will have part of a lesson that they never tought on the quize. This is not all the teachers but i would say 30% are like this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2008

I just graduated within the last few years from this school and it wasn't a positive experience to say the least. Even in honors level courses, the teachers do not teach. The administration decides to punish some students for minor infractions and to not punish other students who cause a lot more trouble. So disappointing to have a school like this in this kind of community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2006

Eastern high school has educated my oldest son(now 21) who is presently an honor student at a Florida University, my second son is a junior with a 3.25 GPA and is thinking of law school, and my daughter (14) will be going there too. I willfully live in Voorhees because of the excellence in educational quality of our schools. Those parents that cry about the lack of individualised attention to their kids should try paying for private school and not getting the same results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

This school does NOT optimally consider the individual student. There is bullying by the teachers and students and they need to get a clue how to make their attitudes and the school environment less toxic. Most interactions have been a DISGRACE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

the teachers are concerned for their students and will do anything to help them out.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black93%
Asian99%
Hispanic97%
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Black74%
Asian96%
Hispanic82%
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students75%
Female74%
Male75%
Black64%
Asian91%
Hispanic66%
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Other ethnicity73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education22%
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant75%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

86%

SAT college ready

64%

Graduation rate

95%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 9%
Black 11% 16%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Robert Tull

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Laurel Oak Road
Voorhees, NJ 08043
Phone: (856) 346-6720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lindenwold High School
Lindenwold, NJ




Sterling High School
Somerdale, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT