Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pleasantdale Elementary School 1

Posted November 03, 2015
- a community member
Terrible school. Teachers and counselors are incompetent and ineffective. My children are honor roll and actually aced exams that made them eligible to be members of Mensa. The jealousy of the administrators here refuse to have them properly recognized in that regard. I would not recommend anyone who values quality education send their children in this district

Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
My son is in Miss Porter's special needs pre-k classroom, and I have never seen teachers with more dedication to the progression of their students than I have here. It is truly amazing how the teachers and therapists put all effort in recognizing individual needs, and creating programs to meet the needs of each student. Teachers communicate daily with me, which paints a clear picture of my child's day! I have absolutely no complaints, and feel really grateful to have my son in such good hands.


Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
I have had my kids at Pleasantdale for 9 years. They started in the lottery Pre-K class. I'm sad to say good bye this year as it is my youngest child's last year. My kids are minorities and there has never been a problem. A parent saying that there is segregation at this school has never been in the liunch room during lunch, on a class trip, in a class room, at a field day, or at recess. Not only is every ethnicity accepted but also special ed, different religions and faiths, same sex families etc. It would be hard to find a school that manages to make everyone fit in. The teachers and the administration is great! The Secretary knows the name of every child, knows their parents and grandparents. I feel blessed that this is the school that my kids have grown up in. I know that they are better people for it!

Pleasantdale Elementary School 1

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
Please listen if you ask too many question about the quality of your child's education and it erks the teacher your child will suffer. I wholeheartly agree with the other parent that stated they do not nor neither want to deal with the diversity of the school. It's integrated segregation at this school so BEWARE!! Learn your child's teacher early and if you detect the slightest problem pull your child out.

Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
Pleasantdale has the kindest and most caring group of teachers in town. Dr. Pollara has set a tone and an environment that all students are nurtured and cared for in a safe place. Pleasantdales principal has a doctorate in education with an emphasizes on special needs. We feel blessed to have such an amazing administrator and friend. By all accounts Pleasantdale is the best kept secret in town, with a rich cultural diversity. We couldn't be happier as a new family to the district.


Pleasantdale Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2014
- a community member
There is simply NO WAY this school could possib;y be considered higher than the 4 that it received last year from Great Schools. The administration and teachers are in no way representative of the diverse culture that is West Orange, NJ. The principal is well past her prime when it comes to dealing with minority students and has no idea how to handle talent. We pulled our child and moved him into a much better school. It is too bad.. the people of West Orange, NJ deserve better.

Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
Es una maravillosa escuela.Is a wonderful school.Estamos muy contentos con la escuela.we are very happy.

Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My school is very good place with lovely teachers and stuf that always are caring for the students .


Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
MY school is very nice place to study, lovely teachers ,the kids love it !!!.........

Pleasantdale Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
Great school in an awesome district. Teachers couldn't be more caring and supportive of individual student needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pleasantdale Elementary School
555 Pleasant Valley Way, W Orange, NJ  07052
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (973) 669-5452
Last modified Pleasantdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top