Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Cloud Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
Academic is a very important part of education, I think St. CLOUD does a very good job in that area. Greater access to STEM programs would be wonderful!!!

St. Cloud Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
There are many programs to assist kids getting along. An autism awareness program, for example.


St. Cloud Elementary School 3

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
My son attended for two years before we moved to private school. He simply was not challenged enough. Art and Spanish were non existent. Spanish is once a week with the children listening to tapes. That is a waste of effort. He came into kindergarten advanced and just bobbed along for two years before we decided it was enough. The teachers try hard but their hands are tied. My son's teachers were constantly taken out of the classroom to learn about data collection and assessment. This school is definitely teaching to the test. I understand they face tremendous pressure from above, but the kids are suffering. The education is not well rounded. Emphasis on math and ELA means science and social studies have been pushed to the side. There is no gym, so during the winter the kids were cooped up in the lunch room or their classroom and told to watch videos and play games quietly. Students and their families are nice but very complacent. They know there are problems, but no one is willing to work to change them. The school is what the body makes of it, and while the PTA worked very hard on events, there was little participation from the parents. For the taxes we pay in this town, this school has been a disappointment, although I will concede this may just be the future of public schools, if parents do not assume their rightful power and protest the test cramming.

St. Cloud Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a community member
I am a former student from this school and may I say this school was the best. I made all of my childhood friends here and the teachers are incredible. It is such a shame that all the other middle schools are horrible. I will never forget my times here.

St. Cloud Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2011
- a parent
The classes are ethnically diverse, with over 60 countries represented in the school. I think that our children are learning more about the world and finding a common "world culture" than we may realize. Great thanks to the teacher who really goes above and beyond to reach each student as an individual, this really comes through at the parent teacher meeting.


St. Cloud Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
St. Cloud is definitely the best elementary school in West Orange. The teachers challenge their students and encourage them to do better. My daughter relocated from a school in Bethlehem PA, that was rated a 10, on this site, but clearly St. Cloud has a superior curriculum, teachers, administration and leadership. The Principal is also doing a great job.

St. Cloud Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
St Cloud teachers are very supportive

St. Cloud Elementary School 3

Posted August 11, 2010
- a parent
The school definitely needs a professional face-lift. St. Cloud obtained a new principal who has not initiated any new life to the school which previously had the same principal for far too many years. It is a typical school that does not engage the children enough and teaches only to ensure children do well on standard testing scores.


St. Cloud Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2009
- a community member
My daughter and I absolutely loves the school. My daughter loves her wonderful, amazing 4th grade teacher, Mrs. Stoner!!The teachers are great and they are willing to help their class students. And our principle, he is the best!!!!! St. Cloud Elementary School, I believe has the potential to be the greatest school in West Orange, New Jersey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

St. Cloud Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
My child is in a Kindergarten class with 24 other children and only one teacher. She is not being challenged at all. The curriculum is far inferior to that at the area's private schools where many of our friends have placed their children. It is a shame that the Town of West Orange has allowed its schools to sink so low.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Cloud Elementary School
71 Sheridan Ave, W Orange, NJ  07052
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (973) 669-5393
Last modified St. Cloud Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top