Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2010

For its caring,devoted teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Washington has provided a wonderful caring space for my children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I am imprressed by their music programs.


Posted May 20, 2010

It has a loving and caring environment. Their character count program is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

The principal and staff are very dedicated and care a great deal about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

I love Washington School because it has various activities throughout the school year that involves both children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I love Washington School because of its diversity and high standards that they set for the students. The principal and they teachers are great, they are dedicated teachers and they care about the students. The teachers help to motivate the students, they work with with and they also get the parents involved so as parents we are aware of what is happening to our children. Wahsington is a great school and I applaud the entire school body for the wonderful job they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Washington School is a pleasant, diverse, and community involvement school. I love it! I am a proud parent. I have three children who attend Washington School. I also have had the opportunity to experience first hand while attending the school as a child. The most memorable experience was the teacher s motivation to teach and the principle that remains the principle today and her constant involvement in student s education. Thumbs up to Washington school the best elementary school in NJ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

The students are very smart. They are given the tools needed to accomplish their scholastic goals. The teachers are very supportive and understanding. They are very professional in everything that they do. The children there,do come first. I don't regret for one day,that I had taken my son out of a private school and placed him into Washington. I feel his opportunities are limitless there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Washington School is an outstanding school.It really helps the parents feel involved in our children's education and cooperate more.The teacher's are excellent when it comes to helping our kids in what they need help with ,and they motivate them to always try their hardest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Because the principal and staff do their best to help the students reach their potential. My older son had a good foundation there and is going to an honor math and science program at the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I love washington school for many reasons. A few of which are, Education, Diversity,and Location. I feel the teachers are outstanding. I have three children, two in the higher grades and one still in Washington. Each earns A's & B's or better thanks to Washington School. Washington School is the way of the future and I am proud to send my children here. Also Location, although West Orange has a great transportation system, as a parent I am comfortable knowing my children only have short walk when attending Elementry School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Washington School is a very caring, nurturing & supportive environment from the students right down to the teachers.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Washington has the best and most supportive staff, not to mention a wonderful principal. The students are thankful for the learning experience they receive here from our terrific teachers. They appreciate what we do - we only wish we could do and expose them to more!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

Washington School has a caring, supportive environment for its students as well as a top-notch faculty. Washington School provides an excellent foundation for the children of West Orange.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

At Washington School, everyone comes together as one big family to work, play, and learn each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2010

All the staffs include the princical are wonderful to the children which is very inportant to me and they also wonderful to the parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The teacher's love to teach our kids and do a fantastic job!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students65%
Female69%
Male60%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Special education33%
General education74%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female82%
Male89%
Black93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Special education60%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students58%
Female61%
Male56%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
General education68%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant58%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
Black88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education79%
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students97%
Female95%
Male98%
Black95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant97%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students50%
Female59%
Male41%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant50%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male83%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 22%
Black 43% 16%
White 3% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Marie Demaio

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

289 Main St
W Orange, NJ 07052
Phone: (973) 669-5385

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT