Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brighten Academy

Private | PK-2 | 230 students

We are best known for accelerated curriculum.

 
 

Living in Washington...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2012

This is one of the best schools in the area. The teachers are friendly, caring and intelligent. They know their material. They get your kids a grade ahead of their peers. If you want a solid foundation for your kids that is the place to be. If they had up to middle school I will still have my kids there right now. Their director is the sweetest person ever. The owner is lucky to have her running things coz he's kinda stiff!! I loooove this school -:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

Bright Beginings is a great preschool because my daughter learned so much so fast and because of the structure it was a good match for her. However, when there is an issue that needs to be discussed with the parent they will talk right in front of the child. I'm a single mom and had already made payment arrangements for that evening and apparently they wanted it that morning so they had no problem telling my friend that she was suspended for non payment right in front of my kid.So the child then thinks they did something wrong because my older child was present and told her that's what it meant. When I tried to get the director to see her mistake, she was totally like "well she was suspended and that 's the words we use" She would not back down either. Does this sound normal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

My daughter is so well prepared for Kindergarten thanks to Bright Beginnings. Every day was a great day in Miss Jean's Class, Miss Bonnie's Class and Miss Kim's Class. The entire staff was warm, nurturing and accommodating whenever possible. We will fondly remember her preschool experience forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

Bright Beginnings Preschool is definitely run like a school rather than a day care. My daughter's day was structured just like it would be in an elementary school. The curriculum was solid and age appropriate. The teachers were sincerely interested in the children and effectively teaching the lessons in a fun way. My daughter had Miss Jean and Miss Kristy and loved every day she spent with them in class. Both teachers were creative and enjoyed sharing their special interests/ hobbies with the children. Special, very special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

Most of the teachers and aides here are awesome but there are a few who are not very kid-friendly. Aside from those unpleasant experiences, my daughter has loved this school. This is definitely not a daycare center; the quality of education is superb. Plus, she's had lots of fun too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My daughter was there for some months and she cried everyday. The teachers are not very involved. My daughter was so happy in an other school than here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

I wasn't happy with this school. My daughter was always crying and felt uncomfortable in the school. A few teachers were good. Some of them were very rude. They treat kids like adults. After going to an other school my daughter was so happy. She learned so much and felt more comfortable here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Bright Beginnings is outstanding! The school is comfortably academic, structured, nurturing and effective. All of my daughters' teachers have been highly qualfied and dedicated. They are so well prepared for Kindergarten and they have had fun every day at Bright Beginnings. I could not have asked for more in a preschool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I was very disappointed in this school. All they did with my child is worksheets. My four year old is now in a great school where she is learning so much more and having a lot of fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

I took my daughter out of this school last year. All she did was sit and work on worksheets. What happen to having fun and learning through age appropriaye activities? We are now at another preschool and are very happy. Schools like this need to look at the needs of children. Not the needs of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Bright beginnings has been a very positive learning experience for my daughter. SHe has learned so much in just three months. SHe looks forward to going to school in the morning. Staff is friendly and professional
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

This school has completely confused rigor with rigidity. Spending hours working on packets does not get children ready to learn, in fact at this age, hours of seat work is developmentally appropriate!appropriate practice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

Brighten Academy is an excellent elementary/Pre school. The teachers, assistant. teachers, aides & administration work as if they were a large happy family. My daughter attended pre school and just completed kindergarten, she loved going to school each day. Every teacher she had over the three years was kind and nurturing as well as dedicated to each child's educational experience. The children were challenged by the curriculum, but enlightened by all there is to learn, they even attended trips to the Theatre (Kimmel Center) and Art Museum. I am extremely pleased with the high quality of teaching taking place in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 51%
Black 6% 16%
Hispanic 6% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Hindi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Hindi
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Camille Banks
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Hindi
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • We have degreed teachers and all our staff is CPR certified.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

315 Fries Mill Road
Washington Township, NJ 08080
Website: Click here
Phone: (856) 582-1144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Birches Elementary School
Turnersville, NJ


Whitman Elementary School
Turnersville, NJ



Bells Elementary School
Turnersville, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT