Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4 & Ungraded
Public
Watchung, NJ

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bayberry Elementary School 3

Posted December 11, 2014
- a community member
Something at play here, or too many teachers seem a little depressed or something, not as full of life like the other shcools I have come across. I heard (school administrator) tells people she got teachers with masters degrees at good prices because of the tough economy, and that some full time teachers are compensated as part time ... and too many of the best kids are lost to private schools. Why? I hear there are several top teachers. As everywhere, more creativity and challenge, and less teaching to the middle would probably be the path to excellence.

Bayberry Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
great school and academics. Daughter attended kindergarten. The school should move to provide private service catering everyday vs only once a week. It currently leverages PTO for lunches but a consistent service 5 days a week would be so much better and appreciated.


Bayberry Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
Great school, very friendly staff and very high standards of education. My son attends kindergarten and he is very happy to go school.

Bayberry Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school, with very friendly teachers and staff. My son has been studying in this school from past 1 year and he really enjoys going to school everyday. The teaching methodologies and resources used by the teachers is excellent. It is very modern and technology oriented. I like the way they incorporate technology in day to day teaching. I also like their evaluation process and they give very constructive feedback which helps parents to know areas where their kid needs improvement or areas where their kids needs more encouragement. All in all a great school!!!

Bayberry Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
Great School very well manged. We have our son in the kindergarten program and we specially moved to Watchung for this School.


Bayberry Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Bayberry School took on two little boys who were truly a mess from being in a bad foster home. The couldnt read, write or speak properly. Now it was not one boy it was two boys. They are now getting B's and A's in a matter on one year.

Bayberry Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bayberry Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 05, 2007
- a teacher
As a current teacher for Bayberry, I am so proud of all the children. The 2005-2006 NJASK scores were superb. It is in no doubt to the teacher expertise, the parent involvement, and the district's ability to listen to and respond to the needs of their teachers. I was surprised at the previous teachers comments on memorization and worksheets as math instruction. I cannot speak for the entire school, but I know in my grade level students are grouped by ability for most activities, thus allowing all students to work at his/her level. Reading instruction is guided as well as whole class. Science is hands-on, inquiry based. Despite some teacher turnover, the ones who have stuck around have seen many changes and have risen to the numerous challenges of teaching every day. When it comes down to it, Bayberry teachers are hard workers who deserve respect.


Bayberry Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2006
- a parent
Excellent teachers, supportive school board, energetic principal and staff. Many extracurricular activites with parents as volunteers; Very active Parent Teacher Organization involves in supporting and encouraging young student activities.

Bayberry Elementary School 5

Posted December 21, 2005
- a parent
Superb program for my kindergartener - looked at private schools in area and this surpassed them. For reading, children are separated into smaller groups based on ability and this has allowed my son to excel. They have spanish, music, art, gym, etc - all run by teachers who put lots of thought into each day's lesson. Facilities are new and beautiful. Children's library can't be beat. Program is well run and staff are kind and understanding. Mrs. Boggs is fabulous (very conscientious, energetic, happy and fun) but I understand all the kindergartener teachers are excellent. Parent support is very strong. Overall, topnotch school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bayberry Elementary School
Bayberry Lane, Watchung, NJ  07069
(908) 755-8184
Last modified Bayberry Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bayberry Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top