Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount St. Mary Academy High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Watchung

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $570,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

Teacher quality is low, and they drive BMW's with your tuition payment of 20K. Parents also not the smartest, Low sat scores, mediocre college acceptances. Case of the emperor has no clothes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I graduated from the Mount a few years ago. I had a very positive experience and loved my time there. I graduated with strong leadership skills and quality academic background. Transitioning to college was very easy, couldn't have asked for more from my high school. The faculty is awesome; the administration can be difficult to deal with at times but the teachers and students made it worth it every day to get up and come to school. MSMA was challenging for me academically, personally, and spiritually. I learned to grow as a person both in and out of the classroom.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2012

I am a Mount alum and loved it there! I received an excellent education. The small class size gave each one of us a sense that we were a family. No one "fell through the cracks ". Same gender atmosphere also lends itself to a certain level of confidence that I know I wouldn't have received at a traditional co-Ed school. They have recently remodeled the science labs and cafeteria. The turf field is top notch for sports. Great swim team too! I would compare it against schools like Oak Knoll and Delbarton, academically speaking, but for a fraction of the cost! I have a daughter now, and would be proud to send her there! The administration is involved and caring. They are not "old school" at all. Quite the contrary! I am shocked that a prior post said otherwise! Attend the Open Houses in the Fall, and see it for yourself, you will fall in love with it!


Posted October 25, 2010

Being a current student at MSMA, I am shocked reading these negative reviews! Attending school at the Mount has given me the oppurtunity of a lifetime, and I know I would not be able to grow so much if I were anywhere but at the Mount. Those who claim the Mount is outdated are MISINFORMED! MSMA offers state-of- the-art laptops to each student, making studying much easier. Being an all-girls school, Mount has allowed me to grow so much socially! Cattiness regularly seen in coeducational schools is rare at MSMA. The academics at the Mount are top-priority and challenging, more so than other area schools. Mount's excellent teachers have helped me learn. Also, no Mount student is ever bored- so many sports, clubs, and artistic electives are offered here. The guidance office is always quick to help with college decisions. Finally, I have grown so much spiritually at the Mount. mountsaintmary.org!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

On all levels Mount St. Mary's is a throwback to another era. The facility is outdated, the curiculum has not kept up with the times and it is a single sex school dominated by administrators who are aging members of a religious order. The school spirit is good, but the education does not compare on any level to that provided at many of the other Catholic high schools in New Jersey. Catholic secondary schools such as Delbarton, Christian Brothers Academy, Oak Knoll, Oratory Prep and Villa Walsh are easily far superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

This is truly a wonderful school. I strongly disagree with the previous poster about the quality of the education. My daughter, who is an honor student, is constantly challenged academically. The education she is receiving far surpasses that of the local public school (which is highly rated). The teachers are very well qualified and committed to quality education. The culture is terrific at bringing out the best in each of the girls. Communication of daily events could be improved but overall this is a very well-run school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Our two older daughters attended the Mount and we were generally happy with the school. Our youngest daughter is a freshman now and we are very disappointed at how the quality of the program has deteriorated over the past few years. Our daughter is getting straight A's, but doing work that she did in 7th and 8th grade. It is not a challenging educational environment the way it was when our older daughters went there. We are likely to move our daughter to a better school next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

This is a current student writing this review. It is an absolutely amazing school. The quality of the academic programs is top-notch. The faculty cares about the students and so the students thrive under their mentorship. The administration also plays a big role and are always there to help. They are not the distant disciplinarians like in many other schools, but are actually involved in your life in a positive way. There are so many things to do at school that it is almost impossible to not find something that interests you. Also, of course, if by chance there is not something a student likes, she may create one herself. Parents are also very involved in the school through the Mercy Guild (for moms) and the Father's Club. These two organizations are always helping the school and so there is always a parent or two in the hallways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2003

An absolutely outstanding all-girls Catholic high school. The updated facilities offer state of the art computer systems, science labs and classrooms. My daughter is entering her sophomore year and loves everything about the school. Extracurricular sports activities include field hockey, basketball, tennis, cross country, volleyball, suimming, softball as well as science league, photography and many other after school clubs. Sister Lisa is an outstanding principal and the teachers are highly professional and dedicated. Parental involvement is very high and there is a very positive atmosphere at the school. Highlights include White Gown masses and the Christmas & Spring concerts. A school which will develop your daughter into an amazing young woman.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 52%
Asian 5% 8%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Black 3% 19%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Metuchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1645 Rte 22
Watchung, NJ 07069
Phone: (908) 757-0108

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Governor Livingston High School
Berkeley Heights, NJ



Hillcrest Academy North
Scotch Plains, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT