Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pioneer Academy

Private | 6-12 | 236 students

Robotics Team, Science Olympiads, Language Olympiads, MATH Counts
 
 

 

Living in Wayne

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $400,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Pioneer Academy has well rounded education from 6th grade through 12th grade. It helps prepare students for College and guidance is given to the students one on one basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

this school is a great school. focus on math and science....academic staff is so willing and also disciplined...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

This school is excellent, my son is very happy here. The school is challenging and the after school programs are fulfilling. He has science Olympiad and soccer. He has never been happier in a school, this was his first year and as the year comes to an end he is already thinking about the next school year. The school is more than just a school, it is like a family. Everyone is polite, friendly and considerate of others. They have a safe environment and promote the development of the student both academically and as an individual. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

We enrolled our children in this school because of the school's excellent track record in preparing graduates for top universities. In fact, of the small graduating class last year, there were several students accepted to Ivy League universities, which is quite impressive given the school's size. The teaching staff is dedicated and motivated and the rigorous academic program is supplemented by many after-school activities. I would recommend this school to any parent who is looking to build a strong foundation in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

i love this school because it has excellen teachers. I am glad to being a parent of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

I have 2 kids and they are going to kindergarten and pre-k. We are very glad them to be there because they have excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

This school offers AP courses to sophomore students. Students are challenged with the high school program. school also have programs for gifted students. This school is participating in Science Olympiad, science fairs, international project competitions and robotics competitions.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2010

i love this school...i have been in this school since 2 years now...and i love everyone there...everyone is so caring and i especially love participating in the science olympiad......we have a record of winning....
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

It's more like a family than a school :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

The teachers an principal are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

i recently just came to this scool and i love it,the teachers teach us with fun and a cheerful smile on thier faces.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2008

i went to this school for 5th and 6th grade. I love the teahers except some. the only reason i want to go there again is because all my friends are there. In classes if u get over like 90's u can have a party or a field trip, the best part is that if u go there, meet new friends, and want to go there the next year, it'll only because all your friends are there. Sure you'll hate it a little bit, but still u would want to go there again for your friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2008

Personal attention and dedication to perfection ....WHAT THIS SCHOOL IS. Academic excellence is provided with love, parent involvement is essential part of the school's success and highly encouraged. Kids are also encouraged to exercise during class periods and this pyhsical stimulation creates active minds. Unfortunately , there are not many after school programs, but there are many plans for the 200 8-2009 school year. After school academic tutoring IS FREE..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I am soo glad I send my kids to this school (3 kids). my youngest son is reading already and he is only 5. he went to pk there. the teachers are excellent. they really care about their students. they see their students as their kids. when I drop my kids off to school, I know they are safe and well taken care of. What else can a parent ask for. the only down side is I do not think they get enough support from the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

This school is great. The science olympiads and math counts are fun, but consist of hard work. The teachers are very helpfulu and show great attention to each of the students. The down part of this school is that it needs more founding and needs to be fixed up around some parts.


Posted September 10, 2007

The Field Trips are awsome plus they have math and science olympics!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2007

Teachers are great, so patient, giving one-one attention to my son. Also in after school program, they help my son do his hw,answer questions. In brief teachers are like friends with which my son sometimes is sharing personal things that he dont even tell me which is the best part that i like
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 96% 1%
Hispanic 2% 22%
White 2% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Black 0% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Boston College & NYU
Lehigh University
Rutgers University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Japanese
Russian
Spanish
Urdu
Turkish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Science Olympiads (2012)
  • Robotics (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Turkish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
  • Urdu
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, Russian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Sukan Alkin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (973) 405-5176

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Turkish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
  • Urdu
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Fitness
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Fitness
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, Russian
  • Game club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Special olympics
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
More from this school
  • Follow us on Twitter https://twitter.com/PioAcademy
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
55
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Boston College & NYU
Lehigh University
Rutgers University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 5%
4 year college - 95%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

164 Totowa Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 405-5169

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Benway School
Wayne, NJ




Memorial Middle School
West Paterson, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT