Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Kennedy Memorial Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 304 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

I wouldn't dream of having my kids in any other school. I have 2 here, one is NeuroTypical and the other is autistic. The personalized and individualized attention our kids get is unsurpassed. School safety and parental involvement are high as well. Every teacher knows every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We love JFK Elem. School. Every morning our 4yr old daughter is always excited to go school. She brags about her class teacher, Miss. M.W. She learned a lot. It's sad that one parent was not satisfied with this school. I really hope she found a school that gives her satisfaction. If JfK was not able to meet her demands, I don't think any school can. Best of luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Horrible school .. Principal even worse ... Taking my children out of sch asap .. My son is exceptionally bright and sch has no programs for gifted children . It has had a neg impact on him and his grades as he's bored beyond belief .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Even though we have a smaller school district our Teachers, support staff and admin are endlessly attentive, positive and go way beyond what is required to make learning fun and rewarding for EVERY student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

Wonderful School....both of my sons attend this school. Great family environment...always offering family activities...keeps the school and its community in touch...I would not change a thing at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

I have to agree, great school. My 5 children all atteneded or currently attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2005

Great School! From the curriculum to family activities, great all around!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students66%
Female73%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
General education70%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students57%
Female47%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
General education61%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant57%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 52%
Hispanic 16% 22%
Black 15% 16%
Asian 6% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Marilyn Bright

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

228 Mt Vernon Avenue
West Berlin, NJ 08091
Phone: (856) 767-9164

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT