Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Pleasant Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 416 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

I love that my kids are experiencing their elementary years in a color-blind and socio-economically diverse environment. This is the real world and the fabulous teachers and principal nurture acceptance and community. An amazing hands-on anti-bullying campaign led by the most involved principal I have ever encountered. Children are not afraid of Schiavo, as another reviewer commented. He commands the school and is unanimously respected. Special Services may be the best in the state, fully supporting the LRE, passionate about integrated classrooms. Homework is more commanding then peers in Livingston and Short Hills. 5 fabulous years with my first and 3 with my second, I don't want Mt. Pleasant to end b/c this school has set the bar so high with faculty, leadership and the friendliest office staff & nurse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Mount Pleasant is an awesome school for students K-5 with great teachers and administration. Students of all ages are engaged in learning. Friendships are made across all races, religion, and genders. It has been a great experience for my daughter who is now in her last year. She has really adopted her love for learning at Mount Pleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This school is very average. The teachers here are nice, but are low on inspiration. Unfortunately, the school is lacking for those who want more for their child's education. This is definitely not the school for students who are above average in their academics as it does not offer enough. However if you are a special needs student this is the school for you because they have a full staff of special education resources outside of the general education program. The leadership only wants limited parent involvement. The school population of children is very diverse and the teacher population is not. A friend of mine said her kindergarten child was afraid of the Principal of the school. lf you live in the district you are assigned an elementary school by your street. I do not recommend moving to an area of West Orange that is assigned to this Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

My Son has attended Mount Pleasant Elementary from K - The present Grade 4. When he entered Kindergarten he had some special needs and the teacher and staff assisted him in every way possible, by the start of first graded he was in the mainstream. The principal, Teachers and Staff made the whole school experience a pleasure for students and parents. They are always there for you and your child. The PTA is very proactive and does a lot for the school and the students alike. I want to thank everyone in the past four years of My Sons education growth. Sincerely a Proud and Happy Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

I couldn't be more pleased with Mt.Pleasant. The teachers, principal and all the staff are wonderful. I've had nothing but positive experiences so far, going into our 4th year now. I love the diversity and sense of community. My children and I have made great friends thanks to the school. The teachers and principal all welcome feedback and are very easy to access. I feel very involved in my kid's education and have loved every teacher so far. The principal is fantastic as well and takes such pride in his school. We are fortunate to have such an amazing elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about Mt. Pleasant School. The teachers are amazing as well as Mr. Schiavo, the principal. My children are receiving a top quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

From the time I first walked through the front doors, I felt welcome and a part of a strong community. The office, support, and maintenance staff are always ready and willing to assist in any way necessary. The teachers are loving, supportive, and creative, and my three children have learned so much from them! The school focuses, not just on academics, but also important life lessons and social skills. The student body spends their days in a peaceful and nurturing environment, and anyone who walks through the hallways would notice the strong and healthy relationships that form between students and between staff, faculty, and students. I couldn't ask for a better school for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

My son has attended Mt. Pleasant since kindergarten and is now entering 5th grade. He has excelled in most subjects and all of his teachers have encouraged him to move forward with his most passionate interests. They have nurtured him to be a very talented and respectful child, with particular respect for children with special needs. Mr. Schiavo, the principal, runs a very tight ship and will not back down on anything if he know it's in the best interest of the students. He consistently hires amazing and bright teachers with a true gift of their profession. We will miss Mt. Pleasant next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

This school is a truly special place. The principal is fabulous and will do anything for the students. The test scores show how great an education our kids get. The teachers go above and beyond! There is NO BULLEYING. The parents are all nice. I have never met a nicer bunch of people. I am glad my son is at this school and am thrilled with his accomplishments!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

All three of my children have gone through Mt. Pleasant and couldn't have had a better experience or a better education. With Mr. Schiavo at the reins, Mt. Pleasant is what I call an elite private education in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I have three children attending this school and could not be happier. The Principal, teaching staff and administrative staff are all fantastic - right down to the lunch ladies! My children excel on the NJ standardized tests and are thriving both academically and socially. It has a wonderful diversity and very warm and caring family base. I really couldn't be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

I have two daughters in Mt Pleasant and couldn't be happier with the experience they are recieving at Mt. Pleasant. I say experience and not education because, althought their instruction has been 1st rate, they have recieved so much more. I agree with the other reviewers that the standard is set from the top, and the principle, Mr. Schiavo, sets the bar high. The PTA is also very involved and does a fantastic job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

We relocated to NJ from out of state this past year and enrolled our daughter in Mt. Pleasant for 2nd grade. As we are nearing the end of the school year I cannot say enough about what a great school this is! We relocated from a "Blue Ribbon" school district but we are much happier here. Our child is a very bright child with moderate dyslexia and Mt. Pleasant has truly helped her reach her full potential and she is doing great, scoring in the top % of tests and really loves going to school each morning- what more could we ask for?! The teachers here are so passionate about teaching and the families are wonderfully diverse and supportive- it is really a great community for learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
General education89%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant83%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female78%
Male94%
Black84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students78%
Female83%
Male73%
Black74%
Asian87%
Hispanic67%
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Special education36%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
Black87%
Asian93%
Hispanic80%
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black97%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students78%
Female81%
Male71%
Black74%
Asian73%
Hispanic82%
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students92%
Female88%
Male96%
Black91%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
White93%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 16%
White 26% 52%
Hispanic 20% 22%
Asian 16% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Manger Road
West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone: (973) 669-5480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Stepping Stones School
Livingston, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT