Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Village Elementary School

Public | PK, 4-5 | 628 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2013

My daughter has great time and great learning experience being at Village Elementary School. As perents we feel happy to be associated to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

School is 4th and 5th grade with over 18 classes for each grade. If you are lucky enough to get a nice teacher, you will have a good year. However, lots of teachers who should either retire (don't care) or think 3 hours of homework each night is the way to go. Administration at this school is the weakest in entire school district....starting with the principal. I had 2 kids graduate from this school district and we call 4th, 5th grade the "black hole". Kids will be split up between the middle schools, so your child won't see their friends unless they go to the same middle school. Most of the kids go to Grover, unfortunately we were tracked for Community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

All the West Windsor Schools are great. The only concern some people may have concerns the diversity. Currently the split is 55% Asian and growing fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

My son went to VES for 3rd and half of 4th grade. He was fortunate in the sense that he had wonderful teachers both years, other than that we were not overly impressed with the school. Mediocre curriculum. The administration staff was rude and nasty. The school is huge with 17-19 classes per grade. Just a mess... I am so glad my 2 year old won't have to go to a school that had 850+ students for 3rd and 4th grade only. We love our new school approx 350 students for grades K-5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

My daughter and I relocated to NJ during the last quarter of the school year. Although the school year was almost over, she was welcomed with open arms from staff, her new teacher and all the students. The academics are amazing and believe it or not, she has really learned a lot in the very brief 3 month timeframe. Thank you Village School for helping make the move to our new town so much easier!


Posted April 26, 2010

The teachers engage the students in projects that make learnng a worthwhile experience.


Posted April 26, 2010

It gave my daughter the foundation that she needed for an incredible higher education experience!


Posted December 20, 2007

This is a excellent school and I would highly recommend any parent to put their children in this school. My child went to this school last year and I am so amazed at the education he recieved here. The principals are very concerned and wonderful and so are the teachers and if I could send my child back to this school I would. This entire school district is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

My Child attended this school. The staff from the principal down was very professional and thoughtful. It is a GREAT school and strong academics and excellent program for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students87%
Female91%
Male81%
Black47%
Asian91%
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Special education56%
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black53%
Asian98%
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special education70%
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black82%
Asian99%
Hispanicn/a
White99%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Special education88%
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students89%
Female92%
Male87%
Black69%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Special education68%
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black75%
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education89%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 48% 9%
White 41% 52%
Black 6% 16%
Hispanic 5% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 New Village Road
West Windsor, NJ 08550
Phone: (609) 716-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pond Road Middle School
Robbinsville, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT