Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Windsor-Plainsboro High School South

Public | 9-12 | 1645 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

Generally good and some great teachers, but a high pressure environment. The school is heavily Asian and the district draws families interested primarily in the high average SAT scores and college admission data (both impressive). However it simply is not possible for 50% of the school to be in the top 5% of the class, which creates intense competition and a great deal of unhappiness. With such a narrow focus on academics these is often little time to enjoy the high school experience or to develop character. It came as little surprise that the Rutgers students who engaged in the cyber-bullying that resulted in a suicide were both graduates of this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

I'm currently in this school, going into my sophomore year and I moved here during my freshman year and I absolutely LOVE it at this school. Not only is the staff and the environment welcoming, but the school itself and the student body as well. South makes you want to come back everyday and it gives you an urge to come back. It's a very good school and I almost got all A's, but it takes hard work. I LOVE SOUTH!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2012

Success here is definitely more about the drive and ambition of students and parents than the quality of education they are offered. Many students take the challenging courses in summer programs then retake them in the regular semester. I fully understand the backlash against the Tiger Mom after sending my children to school there. We were all for working hard to achieve goals but it is way over the top there now. School concerts are great though and benefits from the countless hours the kids put in to rote practice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

As a previous student from South, I would just state that their hostile environment is no place for anyone. The most of the teachers are selective, and can not teach if their life depended on it. The children act as if they were raised with no morals what so ever. Even a majority of the gym teachers cant remember names of students. Yet they all parade around as if there is no bulling and no "cliques" and how everyone is unified. I move around a lot so I would like to think I am pretty educated at rating schools and South just happens to be at the bottom of the barrel. If you don't mind suffering through the ignorance of teachers and student body, then attend but if not, perhaps any other school around the area would suffice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2011

As a current student at High School South, I would urge any prospective attendees to pick another school instead. South was and always has been an amazing place with tradition, spirit, and a magnificent student body and faculty. The problem is the administration. In the last couple of years, the School Board and principal have begun destroying everything good and magnifying everything bad. The poor leadership in place means kids are being suffocated in a prison-like institution. I know high school would have been fantastic without the current administration, and it's a shame that cold, detached officials are ruining something beautiful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2011

Graduated in '08. When I hear from my friends at college what their high school experience was like ("miserable, but isn't high school supposed to be?"), I am completely blown away, as my high school experience at South easily made my years there some of the best in my life. Yes, the academics are superb, and everyone excels (I myself go to a top 5 university). Yes, there is an extracurricular activity for anyone, with significantly more options than I've seen in any other high school. But the most incredible thing about South is the wonderful student body. In my years there, I have never seen bullying or violence. The students were always friendly and got along well with one another with a minimum of cliques. Although there is a high pressure to excel, it's mostly internal--you see your peers succeeding and you want to, too. And the level of diversity in this school! I find that I'm more open to and more knowledgeable about other cultures and nationalities than even friends from diverse, metropolitan cities. You never realize how valuable this experience is until you see the racism from other parts of the country. I loved and I love South. Hope I can send my kids here one day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2011

This school is a bit of a pressure cooker, full of highly motivated and competitive kids. But 30 or 40 kids each year get into the country's top colleges. The top 20 or so go to Ivy's and another 20 or 30 go to the next level of colleges, the Georgetowns, John Hopkins, Northwesterns, Tufts, etc. It's probably the kids, rather than the school or teachers, but having your kids surrounded by bright and motivated peers can be a good thing. The AP courses have some great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

In response to the previous reviewer, I'd just like to point out that minority students are some of the top performers and shouldn't be seen as a supposed liability; instead, we have wonderful diversity and people from all walks of life. I love High School South. Most teachers are excellent, classes are well-paced, there's plenty to do after school, and the student body is overall good. It's making high school a great experience for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2009

Our school is doing a great job. Think of how many minority students there are at this school, yet our school is still doing a fine job. With over 10% of the student body not speaking English at home, it is remarkable as to how well we can compare to other schools such as Montgomery High School and Princeton High School. Furthermore, let us not forget that each and every year, more and more students transfer to this school from poorly performing school districts such as the Trenton Public School District. These transfer students lack solid foundations in core curriculum classes. As a result, their HSPA test scores may be lower than that of their peers. This does not adequately reflect the performance of the School nor the district.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

I love my school because we are so diverse. Our students are all competitive and we strive for the best. I believe that our school is overall very friendly and has a good environment. We also have a very good english as a second language program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

My child is doing very well at this school! I love how the teachers are there to always help a student out after school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

An excellent school where there is a huge emphasis on becoming a well rounded student--strong academically, socially and athletically. Can't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

My daughter is a senior. Very good school. Curriculum competitive. Guidance Dept. and teachers very good. Kept updated on my child's performance. Very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

Great school. i am currently a sophomore and love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2007

Excellent school with great students from the most diverse backgrounds imaginable. My first child attends an Ivy League school and was very prepared by this school system. My second is a freshman and is getting a great love of learning here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I was born and raised in this community, and South was the best experience of my life. Ms. Franks, I'm sorry to say but your children took the easy way out because they couldn't keep up with the spirit, love and pride south provides for their students. It is neither the administration, activities, teachers nor the school that discourages students, rather parents that don't see the excellence behind powerful education. South built a beautiful resume for my future and taught me many things books will never teach me. Everything was available if you put your efforts into it. Students end up traveling the world, meeting people they never dreamed about and much more. Every year the spirit is more intense and every year I'm away I miss it more and more. I admit, some teachers a little out of date but most fun, moving and influential. This school is sincerely amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2006

I have had two children go through WWPHSS and both enjoyed wonderful academic and extracurricular experiences. NJ magazine has consistently ranked the school within the top 5 or so in the state. The faculty, except for a couple of tenured clinkers, is generally very good and in many cases exceptional. The impressive academic curriculum is complemented by a rich palette of outside events and activities. The environment is competitive academically (avg SATs well above 1200) and socially, and I have seen several cases where students just could not succeed there because of it. Usually these students end up in private schools or in another district. But for the majority, the academic experience rivals that found at an exclusive private school. Well over 90% go on to college, with 5-10% attending Ivy league or equivalent institutions. I couldn't be more pleased with the education my kids received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

Fun school with a lot of pride. Rigorous academics, good teachers. Overall good experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2004

I am a student at WWPHS South, and I am currently finishing my fourth year here; my opinion is valid. The prior principle at WWPHS South was absolutely wonderful, but our new principle has a few things to learn, as does any person in a new position. Teachers in the in all departments are exceptional excluding those in Science and Language, due to lack of communication and disciplinary skills. Many extracurricular programs are offered and there is something for everyone. The rules and regulations of this school are enough to keep one safe and disciplined if they are not looking got get in-between a rock and a hard place. With the rules that are in place we are not suffocated, but are given guidelines to allow us to grow into capable and educated individuals. I have been offered so much by this school, its people, and diversity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2004

I have had two children enter this school. The first needed to be moved after one year. The second will also be moved soon. The teaching staff only has about 1/3 competent teachers. There is no communication to the parent's in a timely manner. The first child that I moved has gone on to high achievement at another high school, thanks to the superior teaching staff. The child scored all 700's on both SAT I's and SAT's II's including a total 1490 combined math and verbal. This is not attributal to WWPHSS. It took work to restore the child's self-esteem and confidence after the neglect and negative practices by the teachers at WWPHSS. I do not recommend this district. There is a large population who constantly send their children to tutors. Academic success is not due to administration or 2/3 of the teaching staff, but rather bright students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black95%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Special education95%
General education100%
English language learners64%
Non-migrant99%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former73%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black81%
Asian99%
Hispanic70%
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education77%
General education98%
English language learners64%
Non-migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former73%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students92%
Female91%
Male94%
Black72%
Asian98%
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former92%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 45% 9%
White 42% 52%
Black 6% 16%
Hispanic 6% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

346 Clarksville Road
West Windsor, NJ 08550
Phone: (609) 716-5050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Princeton High School
Princeton, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT