Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas R. Grover Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1100 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

This is an amazing school with great programs, teachers, students, and a wonderful location. This schools test scores are close to perfect and the students work hard and productive each day in class without wishing they weren't in school. The staff are perfect and very respectful to the students; as the students are in return. This school deserves to win this because they and a 11/10 in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

The person below me obviously has never been to this school, nor has he/she ever bothered to learn about the school records. Behold, the results of the American Diploma Project Test of 2011 in math: 7% of New Jersey has received an "advanced proficient" rating in Algebra 1, yet 30% of the entire school population received that same rating (675 or above out of 800). If those standards are low, then so is the IQ of the below reviewer. Has any other school walked away with trophies each year in orchestra competitions for about 9 years in a row? The Thomas R. Grover Middle School 8th grade orchestra has consistently received the highest cumulative scores in such competitions out of all age groups (high school, middle school, etc) and group types (band, orchestra, choir, etc). If such a school is considered "unruled" and "libertine" (obviously the below parent has never attended a school before), then everything else probably is. Although my opinion of the school may be slightly biased because I am a student at it, the facts speak for themselves.


Posted December 28, 2011

This school is way over rated. It has a very low standards curriculum especially math. No challenge for the students, The teachers and counselours are not helping as they should and worse no dress code very unruled and libertine environment. No wonder this country is famous for bad schools and not smart students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2011

I am a graduate education student, my children attend Grover, and I substitute here. I am thoroughtly impressed by how each teacher I've encountered is teaching in the most research-correct manner. My graduate colleagues and professors are always impressed with the Grover stories I share in the graduate classroom. Learning is inquiry-based, behavioral support is positively framed, and staff seems to understand that middle schoolers are developmentally between children and adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

The School has wonderful teachers, a great learning potential and and friendly community. The teachers are deticated, and fun.


Posted July 22, 2011

Grover is so great! All the teachers and principals, and all the rest of the staff is so kind, and really helped me. Grover offers some leadership roles within the school, and one outside of the school. All the students are very nice, and the teachers are excellent at conveying information to them in a fun way. For kids who are very advanced, they have an advanced math program, and for kids who might not learn as quickly, they have a program for that too. This school does not ignore your student's special needs and how they learn. Grover encourages students to use their indvidual learning patterns to learn and teaches the students how they can use some of the skills taught in school in the real world. Grover has a great music program, their orchestra winning Music in the Parks 1st place every year. While Grover challenges the students academically, they do have fun activities such as team days, spirit days, and school dances. All students are also encouraged to join school clubs, academic teams, and sports teams.


Posted August 1, 2010

The teachers at this school are amazing and always ready to answer questions about the subject and assist with assignments. The Special Education program is good. Many after school activities are offered, including clubs and sports. Students have a choice in course(s) in seventh and eighth grades. Academically, the school is very challenging and demanding. The homework given is tedious and hard, and may take hours. However, it is a good learning environment. I would recommend Thomas R. Grover Middle School.


Posted January 7, 2010

Honestly, I am new here and I hate most of this school. The schedule is disastourous, many of the teachers are to normal and arent into what they are teaching. The curriculum is lame, the gym equiment is horrible (the badminton rackets are all, all, plastic) and there is really no choice in what you do. The students and principal is/are very nice. The system of how they work just doesnt make sense at all! And whats worst is they have a RECESS! That means that kids are still at an elementary age. I dislike GMS. Well atleast compared to my other school in Bellevue (Seattle), WA, which by the way is Odle Middle School, where it is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2009

I have just finished up my student teaching experience at Grover this past week and I have nothing but great things to say about the students, the staff and the administration. I couldn't have felt more welcomed when I arrived every morning. Every staff member was always friendly and asked me how my experience was going. The students were wonderful to work with and I never once had a discipline problem. I am genuinely very sad that I have to leave Grover, because the quality of students and staff there is second to none. I would highly recommend Grover Middle School and the West Windsor-Plainsboro district to anyone looking for a good school district for their child.


Posted December 7, 2009

Hi. I was alittle shakey abut starting a new school in the middle of the year, but boy I love it! This school is the best school I have EVER went to. Everyone is soo nice. There are no evil people in this school. People showed me where everything was and I felt like I been at this school for years. In the beginning you will feel like Tomas R Grover is such a confusing school but after a week you will be going to school like you been going there for years. So, yeah! Tomas R Grover RULEZ!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

For a large school, it has a small school feel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

This is the best school ! My kid fit in right in the middle of the school year. The teachers are excellent and highly dedicated. The best programs in Music and Choir. It is a blessing to have my kids in Grover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

It is the best school in New Jersey the teachers are really nice and they help and kids with troubles and the principal is awesome.There a lot of after school activeties
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

GMS was disappointing. I recall contacting the new principal and sharing a concern, however the professional courtesy of feedback (as I was promised) was never received. Next, the school has a very diverse population and needs more emphasis placed on tolerance and acceptance of everyone because my child endured racial harassment in the form of name-calling in the classroom. There was a lot of profanity on the school bus too. In addition, while the inclusion of parents is encouraged for PTA activities, exclusion is encountered (starting with the department supervisor) when it comes to visiting the classroom during instructional time, except for one day during American Education Week. Most of the teachers are knowledgeable but I observed some difficulty in the transferring of that knowledge to the students effectively in a lesson. Student's learning styles and multiple intelligences should matter and daily and homework should connect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I go to Grover Middle School and it's really an awesome place. There are barely of the problems that other schools have, like bullying, severe 'popularity' issues, and incompetent teachers, and us students are encouraged to take risks and become better people every day. If someone needs help, there is always at least one person to help them out, whether it's a teacher or a fellow peer. Everyone at Grover encourages social interaction, physical activity, and good grades. There are a lot of programs and ideas flowing around GMS, and I personally think it's one of the best schools out there with some of the best kids too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

great school best school districe I truly reccomend. this school is truly the best school in nj I can say that because i been to many other school in nj by far grover is the best and i am a student who atends grover middle school SO why not take a take my reccmondation on this school. go jags
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2006

The highest quality in the start bar-none! The entire West-Windsor Plainsboro school district is the most demanding and challenging school district for students. It's the school where being smart is cool, very cool. The atmosphere makes you feel like every day your on vacation. Everyone will be behind you 120%! This is truly the place were memories can be made and never forgotten.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students92%
Female94%
Male89%
Black71%
Asian96%
Hispanic83%
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black81%
Asian98%
Hispanic95%
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education82%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Black78%
Asian93%
Hispanic79%
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
Black82%
Asian97%
Hispanic67%
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special education54%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Black78%
Asian98%
Hispanic88%
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Other ethnicity77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special education86%
General education97%
English language learners36%
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former36%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male92%
Black72%
Asian98%
Hispanic71%
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Other ethnicity71%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special education57%
General education96%
English language learners54%
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former54%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students95%
Female92%
Male97%
Black83%
Asian97%
Hispanic88%
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Other ethnicity79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special education81%
General education97%
English language learners62%
Non-migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former62%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 53% 9%
White 37% 52%
Black 5% 16%
Hispanic 5% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Southfield Road
West Windsor, NJ 08550
Phone: (609) 716-5250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pond Road Middle School
Robbinsville, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT