Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Radix Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 59 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

I love Radix! I have 2 children in the school. One is in kindergarten and the other is in 3rd grade. The school is very well secured. The principal is really involved with the school and very easy to talk to. The teachers are easily accessible through email or face to face. There are so many activities at this school for parents to be involved in! The layout is perfect. The kindergarteners are in their own separate wing of the school and to get to their wing when your in the school you need to be buzzed in because the doors are always locked which is great. Once you walk into the main entrance you can only go to the office because the kindergarten wing and the rest of the school is locked which is fantastic for parents to know that their kids are safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

my child attends "1/2 day" kindergarten. "half day" is about 2 hours so I wouldn't really call that a half day. technically 2 1/2 hrs but the first and last 15 min of the day are about getting on and off the bus, attendance, bookbags, etc. radix is relatively secure and safe but in some ways to a fault as parents do not even know the names or emails of other parents in the class which makes it difficult socially to set up play dates and develop relationships invite classmates to parties etc. if your child is "progressing" you will only meet with the teacher face to face one brief moment for the entire school year . we are almost to april and there have not been any field trips or school plays in which our kindergarten participated. they dont have snack time or recess because the "day" is so short so the kids really miss out on the social aspect i think. it seems that if your child has special needs or is academically challenged they get more attention and one on one time. if your kid is average to smart they won't get much personal attention. my child is learning but doesnt really know the kids in the class. they need to have more activities that make parents & kids more involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

not happy about the still no full day kindergarten, it was suppose to be full day when my son turned 1, he will be 5 in july. i think the school needs to think about the transition factors for these kids who do a half day kindergarten and then a full day of first grade, it is not an easy transition, i know because i have to boys in 4th grade at radix and from kindergarten to first it was tough! we pay enough school taxes that this should not even be an issue! Radix needs to get with the times and be full day kindergarten
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

I have 2 children in Radix, 4th and 2nd grade, they've been in the school for 2 yrs. The school is visually appealing and welcoming in appearance which helps set a good tone upon starting the day. All of the teachers I've encountered have communicated well with me re: my children's progress or behavior. Many extracurricular activities are offered to keep parent's involved at the school or notified of community events. This is a national school of character and this years theme focused on instilling the value of sharing and doing positive and random acts of kindness. I'm pleased that my children aren't only being challenged academically but are also being challenged to be productive members of society. My 3rd grade daughter was struggling in Math in Washington Twp. School district which used the 'EveryDay Math' program. She cried every day and suffered from low self esteem despite extra assistance. After transferring to Radix Elementary which uses a different Math program I've seen marked improvement in her Math skills and she's much more confident in herself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

This is a great school. Very caring teachers and helpful staff. My daughter has ADHD and has always received great support from everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

This is an AWESOME elementary school. Caring teachers, wonderful character education, excellent community for you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

I have a child starting kindergarten this year and another son who will be going into his fourth year at Radix. He is going into third grade. This is an excellent school. I'm glad I checked out great schools.net before moving to Williamstown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

This is my daughter's second year there. She is in 2nd grade now and does nothing but talk about her wonderful teacher. She wants her teacher to move up to 3rd grade with her. Two thumbs up for Radix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

I love radix! Everyone is so nice and welcoming...they really go above and beyond to help our children. They have a fabulous PTA and really encourage parent envolvement at all levels....whatever time you can give. The school is a national school of character...and character development and values are part of every day life at radix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

Radix Elementary is the upitome of a great school! Not only is the academic program top notch - their character education program has been nationally recognized as the best in the nation. The only problem with Radix is that is it only goes to 4th grade - I wish my kids could go to Radix forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

Both of my children attended Radix since Kindergarten. My youngest finished her last year in June and I was so sad. I was involved with Radix for 8 years. Neither of my children had the same teacher, so I had the opportunity to get to know many of the teachers. They were all wonderful and are very good at what they do. When parents walk through the school, they feel welcome there. I will truly miss that 'family' feeling moving on to the Middle School and the High School. I would recommend Radix to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students72%
Female66%
Male78%
Black88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special education50%
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female82%
Male89%
Black94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special education54%
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students64%
Female75%
Male55%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Special education41%
General education68%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special education74%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Special education96%
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant97%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 51%
Black 9% 16%
Hispanic 5% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

363 Radix Rd
Williamstown, NJ 08094
Phone: (856) 728-8650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Victory Christian School
Monroe Township, NJ



St Mary School
Monroe Township, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT