Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garfield East Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 23 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2009

My child is a student at GE and has been here since Pre-K year. My child has had much success academically and that is due to the support of the caring staff and administration. Every school has it's problems and GE is no exception. I would like to see more parent participation rather than complaints. We as a community need to work together with the schools and the district to rise above. A first step would be to pariticapte in school events, attending School Board Meetings, and voting for the School Budgets. It's sad to see so much negative talk and never any action. I challenge all parents, staff, and other community members to do your part to help GE strive to be a shining star in not only Willingboro, but the state of New Jersey!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

My child is currently in the 4th grade at GE. When she began kindergarten and first grade I thought the teachers did a great job but I began to see a lack in both effort and care in the teachers. My daughter has suffered and is behind. I feel like I must struggle to get a 2nd job to pay for a private education or move to a town with a better school system. I feel that the teachers dont care if my child makes it or not. I am left with the responsibilty of teaching my child what they briefly review in class. I now understand the bad stories I have heard about the Willingboro School System. If you have the option dont move here or send your child to private school so they dont have to play catch up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

Garfield East has gone down hill since my daughter first started to attend in pre-school. She's now in second grade and I've had numerous problems with this school. They've changed hands 3 times since she's attended and this is their third principle. Children's academic progress is not a focus of this school. However, children with behavioral issues get the attention while students that are doing well academically suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

This school gets no ratings from me. My child attended this school since kindergarden. The teachers seem to stop caring about the children around the third grade. My child never learned how to write in cursive. The teachers tend to loose focus about why they are there. If your child is struggling with a subject, they tend let you know that it's his/her problem not theirs. I moved my child out of this school after 4th grade. I only wish I did it sooner. I think the teachers should be held accountable for not teaching these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I feel this school ignores children who are not the 'shining stars.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

My daughter just completed her first year of preschool at Garfield East and I must admit I had a pleasant experience with the preschool department as well as the school. The staff is very friendly and the students seem happy to be there which makes life easier knowing that your child is in a happy but most of all safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

My children have attended GE for three years now. I continue to be impressed with the level of dedication of the staff. The academic program continues be impressive. The leadership of the current principal is exceptional, she can regularly be found greeting students and monitoring classes. She is always helpful and I know that my children are in a safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

Although, I am pleased with the overall quality of education. I am unhappy with the lack of cooperation from the principal to have the parnets involved with the students academics and daily lives at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

Request for help for you child from the school counselor are often ignored. If you have a child struggling with academics you get very little help. Request to transfer you child to another room are ingored - principal refuses to budge on this issue. Basically if you don't have a child who is an A-B student he/she gets ignored until the month of June when the school decides not to move your child foward even though you have been trying to get help for them all school year long.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students56%
Female59%
Male52%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special educationn/a
General education60%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant56%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students65%
Female58%
Male74%
Black69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education27%
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students44%
Female59%
Male32%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Special educationn/a
General education48%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students55%
Female56%
Male55%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special educationn/a
General education60%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students72%
Female78%
Male70%
Black72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students34%
Female43%
Male23%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Special educationn/a
General education38%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant34%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students53%
Female51%
Male55%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special educationn/a
General education59%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 16%
Hispanic 6% 22%
White 3% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Keith Ellerbe

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Evergreen Drive
Willingboro, NJ 08046
Phone: (609) 835-8990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian School
Willingboro, NJ


Apple Tree Academy
Rancocas, NJ




Garfield Park Academy
Willingboro, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT