Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Peace School

Private | PK-8 | 206 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Woodbridge...

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $236,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2013

Our Lady of Peace school is a very highly academic school. The curriculum is challenging and really prepares children for high school. The teachers are truly dedicated to the success of the kids. There are even after school clubs that are provided by the teachers on their own time. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

My two children went to Our Lady of Peace School. The work load is high, the standards are high, and the payoff is great. There is no teaching to the test at OLP. These children learn! This school is a High School Prep School. Both of my children were accepted to outstanding private high Schools and were well prepared for them. Here's the thing...if you want your child to work hard to achieve all that life has to offer then you should send him/her to OLP. If you want your child to not have to learn much or do much work for school then this is not the school for you. OLP's standards are high and they expect the students to work at their potential. If a student gets a D or an F on their report card they must attend mandatory tutoring. The teachers and the principal stay after school four days a week to tutor these students to ensure their academic success. The staff and faculty are dedicated to the children of the school. These teachers are not paid overtime...ever! They want to stay because they want the students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Very Unsatisfactory! Due to the unfprofessionalism of teachers and school board directors. Teachers here curse and bullies are unpunished. I would've let my kids stay 'till 8th grade but 3 hours of homework a day per child is ridiculous! they send my kids home for me to teach them what should've been taught in class. homeowork is a review to make sure your child is inline with what he/she learned in class! OLP is going down the drain. It is a waste of time and money. 2 principals in 6 years! Principals & teachers didn't get along and the students and parents suffer due to the lack of coordination between them. More than half the class of 5th grade 2009-2010 got out and went somewhere else. We simply wont tolerate the teachers who are the bullies themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

I have put all 4 of my children through OLP and I love the school. The teachers are caring and the educational element is outstanding. My oldest went on to high school and was placed in Honors level classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

I have 2 kids in OLP. I love the school. I made a great choice in putting them there. The principal is incredible. He clearly cares about the children's well being and academic success. Great School!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I loved this school, the teacher are very envolved with the students. My kid received academic support and their recomendations were helping him. My son remember his kindergarden teacher, Ms. Liza, and I can say all the staff are nice and professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

We are very pleased that we enrolled our daughter in OLP. She had gone to another school and was not happy. Now here at OLP she wants to go to school and loves to do her homework. OLP is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Our experience was that children with behaviour problems ruled, bullying, indifferent to ineffectual discipline. Teachers lack respect for students. Totally out of character with other area dioscese schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

Excellent school. I have been a school parent there for 16 years. It's a real family there. I employ several of the graduates and there is none better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

This school is sooo cool! I love the teachers, students and the faculty are so kind and nice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2004

My child has been going to Our Lady of Peace School evr since kindergarden (she's in 8th grade now). I have always been very satisfied with the school, faculty, and staff. They always work hard to teach each and every child while making it fun. I couldn't have picked a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 9%
Hispanic 21% 22%
Black 8% 16%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Metuchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 69 Amboy Ave
Woodbridge Township, NJ 08863
Phone: (732) 738-7464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Woodbridge Township, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT