Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
432 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St John Vianney Elementary School 2

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
So disappointed that Mrs. Woodburn is gone, that so many things have changed and that the new principal is so oblivious to what is going on. Families are leaving and more will follow if things do not change. Can not believe that school let the relgious ed director dictate what can and can not happen during sacraments. These kids have been together since preschool and the fact that classes need to be divided is not right. If people can not afford a Catholic education that is not our problem, we find ways and means to send our children to catholic school, we should not have to share sacraments with the public school kids and not see our children's friends in the other class. This is just one of the examples that angers most people, along with the astronomical fee for being in the play and now paying the difference for class trips. I can only hope the administration and monsignor wake up before the school loses more students. It's now rumored that the middle grades are losing 2 teachers. These things would not have happen 2 years ago.

St John Vianney Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers that I have dealt with the past 4 years are been great....sad to see the school take a negative turn.


St John Vianney Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
I have three children at this school. They've been here since pre-school. You will not find a more caring staff anywhere. The most wonderful part is that not only are the staff involved but all of the parents are involved as well. When you come to SJV you are welcomed into a beautiful Christ-centered community. The education is great. Children from the school are accepted to some of the best high schools and magnet schools and go onto bright futures. You will not find a better place to raise your children. The religious program is the icing on the cake. The behavior and values (religious and educational) taught to the children can not be matched.

St John Vianney Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
I'd really like to thank everybody at this school from the gentlemen who keep it clean and running to the teachers who care so much about the children and the all the staff who keep our children safe and keep the school running so smoothly. What a wonderful environment for the kids.

St John Vianney Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
I don't know how the teachers manage to teach students at all levels. Teachers also teach students to teach each other. They are always available for extra help as well. No students are left behind here.


St John Vianney Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Some teachers could give more, some could give less but overall I'd say it was a fair amount. I'm happy with summer homework as well.

St John Vianney Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Respect is a high priority at SJV. Students are taught to respect the teachers, staff and each other.

St John Vianney Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Students are constantly challenged to be active Christians, to be active in the community, and to support and care for one another and those in need.


St John Vianney Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
There is no match for this school in terms of how the staff, the associated church and the parents are involved in developing the children's sense of honesty, integrity and fairness. The moral fiber of the students is it's first and foremost priority.

St John Vianney Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2016
- a parent
My children have attended this school since 2011 and started in preschool. I could not be happier with their academic performances. I am not a product of Catholic school but wanted that faith based education for my children and I found that and more at SJV. They have made friends that will last a lifetime. I too have made wonderful friends with other moms who are very caring and compassionate people. SJV is more than a school community they are a family. The teachers and staff are exceptional and always there to help. My youngest is far ahead of my niece who is older and attends public school. This is the best decision I made absolutely no regrets.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John Vianney Elementary School
420 Inman Avenue, Woodbridge Township, NJ  07067
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (732) 388-1662
Last modified St John Vianney Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top