Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St James School-Woodbridge

Private | PK-8 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Woodbridge...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $195,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

I had 2 children at this school. I was greatly disappointed in the education which they received and took them out of the school. The teachers were mediocre and the children are behind the children in public school. It's all about money and fundraising. Enrollment is down and I don't think it will last much longer. I'm very disappointed and would not recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2014

This school has been nothing but a huge disappointment from the first year I enrolled my child. The school is clearly suffering from horrible enrollment rates but has nothing to offer to attract new students. Education is mediocre at best, technology is light years behind and don t get me started on classes such as arts or language. My main suggestion to the monsignor and the new principal: The days of Iron Fist are over! Stop your teachers from screaming at children, punishing children for the smallest offences and stop treating them like soldiers. They are CHILDREN and every child there is different and needs a different approach but the old fashioned teachers at this school can t take the time to understand or care. I paid a lot of money to have my child be in time-out every day in for the dumbest things. You can also forget talking to the teachers to resolve the issues, apparently your opinion as a parent does not count. Unfortunately all the good, fresh perspective teachers were let go this year, leaving behind . I hope the new principal brings in some changes or the school will be non-existent in the next few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2014

The priest there can care less about the school and even less about the students.He barely visits except when he has to show his face.The management is a joke and treats ever parent like an ATM.If there are any issues regarding your child(children),good luck getting anything resolved.It is unfortunate because I am an alumni .When I was a child,people cared about each other.That is not the case anymore.That is very sad.I sent my child to SJS and was disappointed at the experience.The after school program did have employees that took the extra step to make after care fun but unfortunately,they have left the program.The school has fired amazing teachers and kept some really bad ones.Overall awful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

My kid went to kindergarden here. I am a non-christin and non white. I found that my kid was being treated racially by the teachers, that includes the class teacher. Apart from that, they give home some tickets or the other, always asking money, money and more money. If we r not able to sell the tickets, we had to bear the cost of the tickets, which is like 1000$. They say their school is a affordable christian education, I would disagree as they are truly christian(I have no issue over it), but affordable is very misleading. I wish they would tell everything forehand even before one tries to enroll their kid in this school. But most of all, my experience with one of the kindergarden teacher is very bad, and hope no other parent comes to this situation. My kids currently goes to public school now and I think things are going in the right direction. I wanted to tell my opinon as the kindergarden enrollment starts this month and any one looking for reviews knows what they are going to face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

I' am an alumni at this school. Besides the terrible education and the lack of understanding from the staff, this school has the worst staff and it's not even worth paying for. Here is an example, There was a new math teacher named Mrs. Huffcut who arrived about 2 years ago I believe. My grade as well as other students lowered greatly, and every parent complained. The principal Ms. Erath refused to speak of the situation. Until now, she is still instructing children and I keep hearing from other students that she is still a terrible teacher. Thank goodness though for my public school math teacher that I was able to understand what I missed in middle school. The principal is rude, as well as the English teacher who has been known to threaten and try to interfere in the lives of other students.


Posted August 24, 2013

I'm a alumni from Saint James, and I learned a lot from Saint James, they get kids ready for the future, and high school. They got me ready for High school, and they get tons of others ready to. Music is great, Spanish is good, Art is amazing they tell you facts, and information about some of the most famous art. Gym is great, it is a workout that will make you sweat, but not over work you to exhaustion, and Library has fun activities, for you to do. Saint James is like a family to me, and is continues to grow every year a kid enrolls there. So I'm glad I was enrolled there, I feel like everyone there is part of my family.


Posted June 14, 2013

My daughter was studying in PreK at St James school in this year.she learned a lot.i should thank her teacher Mrs Beres for that.She is an Excellent Teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

My daughter has been at St. James since 1st grade. At first I felt the school was not very challenging academically however the new principal has really improved the quality of the academics in the school. My son has just entered kindergarten and I'm very happy with his progress. St. James is a great school and we're very happy with our decision to send our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Still quite early to say but so far so good. Here my kids are well adjustedin no time. We were given a full tour of the school & we were able to also meet and greet the teachers. Parents who have been there since thier kids were in pre k said the school has improved tremendously for the better. The pricnipal is very much involved and intouch with teachers, parents and students needs. back to school night was great! we were able to talk to the teachers of our 2 sons and made sure this school year we were all going to be all on the same page as to what will be expected of us and how we can get together to help our child be on top of things, responsible and a good character to society :) our sons are challenged & eager to learn and become better students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

I am currently a student at Saint James. Acedemics get a 9/10. Specials such as Spanish has tremendously improved. It used to be a joke where you would go to class and be expected to speak fluent spanish and you wouldn't learn anything. The new teacher as of last year teaches you at your own pace. We use Rosetta Stone. Music Class is absolutely amazing! The teacher is such a professional. Gym is good. Library is fun because we do projects. The teachers are very good. They teach you things that you need to be prepared for. All of the regular and specials teachers show tons of effort. The principal has made a lot of changes, but none bad so far. Saint James has tons of fun after-school activities.Overall this is a great school and I would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

This school is at best average in academics. Mathematics is very weak. Students leave here unprepared for high school mathematics.Language Arts is one of the few bright spots. It challenges students and moves them to develop critical thinking skills. The use of technology in the past by staff and students has been very limited. There is a new principal who seems to be very forward thinking and has begun some very needed changes. She has brought in some new staff and started moving teachers to use technology in lessons. While this is a step in the right direction, St. James has a long way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

I am an alumni of saint james...acedemics are 7/10..many activites.....spanish class is a joke....computers is not....
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2007

In talking to other parents in the area academics are good. Lots of extracurricular activities and the sports are spectacular. Parent involvent is huge and I love it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

Academics are okay. Great variety of extracurricular activities. The parent involvement is very high, and in some respects too high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 9%
Hispanic 14% 22%
Black 7% 16%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Metuchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

341 Amboy Avenue
Woodbridge Township, NJ 07095
Phone: (732) 634-2090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT