Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mdsx Co Voc Health Biomed

Public | 8-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

Everyone goes to Rutgers. No AP classes. Teachers are prone to favoritism. Others are downright awful(like Frank).


Posted October 15, 2013

The school is even worse than when it was created. The most difficult part of the school is the faculty. There are countless teachers who have rather unorthodox teaching methods that believe their opinions are the only ones that exist. Additionally, many teachers are prone to favoritism. This leaves a student like myself at a great disadvantage. I work hard, but unfortunately I am not recognized, because I am not a favorite.


Posted October 13, 2013

As a senior at Woodbridge Academy, I have watched this school transform from a small allied health program integrated in a vocational school, to a dynamic high school that prepares its students well for college and beyond. The faculty has been changing; several new teachers and a new principal have been added. Most of our teachers are well-qualified in and passionate about the subjects they teach, and care about helping us learn. It is true that some have questionable teaching styles that don't sit well with all of us, but not all the teachers are like that. The new principal is great and very popular with students and teachers. This school isn't perfect - most clubs are not able to meet after school so there is not a huge variety of extracurriculars that we can choose from. The academic workload can also be intense sometimes, but the block scheduling our school uses makes it easier for us to manage our time. Overall, however, I am satisfied with my high school experience so far, and like this school.


Posted August 21, 2013

Awesome school going here teachers are great. Principal is friendly too. I like the medical intervention.


Posted July 17, 2013

Now that the principal is gone, there is no way to justify going to this school. The 2 years i spent here are ones ill spent. The reason for this is the teachers. 3 have already been fired and even more should be since they aren't qualified for their positions. I've wasted thousands of dollars on tutors in math that i just can't take it now. Hopefully, my old district can actually enlighten me rather than this school


Posted July 12, 2013

People may think this school is great, but it honestly isn't. Terrible teachers force students to seek tutors rather than actually learning the material from their instructors. Instructors are blatantly sexist and choose favorites. Also, there are only two AP classes offered here. One of them is taught by an instructor who is completely sexist and honestly teaches a curriculum that ineffective. Just because there are a few extra college credits from the shop classes isn't enough for one to go to this school


Posted November 4, 2011

I want to apply here people say its a really good school. I hope to go their next year my friends also say its an excellent school


Posted September 11, 2011

The Middlesex Academy of Allied Health and Biomedical School is perfect for students who are interested in entering the medical/science field. My daughter in currently in 11th grade and comes home everyday and tells us what she learns about. Her medical knowledge has grown immensely and even in other areas: math, english, physical education, and history. SAT and HSPA preparation is also incorporated majorly. The staff is very cooperate and attends to the students needs immediately. I care about my child's future and so do they. My daughter is also on the sports teams at school, and involved in several clubs. My child comes home happy, so I am happy. Middlesex Academy for Allied Health and Biomedical Sciences is a perfect all-round school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

My daughter is in her third year at the Academy, and I have seen her grow both emotionally and academically in ways that our public high school would have never allowed. Please keep in mind that the Academy portion of this school is only into its fourth year, and thus the kinks are still being worked out. The administration, staff, and guidance office are almost unilaterally above excellence, and when necessary, course curriculum and teaching styles are appropriately tweaked without hesitation. Not only does this school offer an advanced curriculum that will give students a leg up on college, it is there to offer any support and assistance needed by students. In addition, administration and staff is easily accessible to parents and parent involvement and LISTENS to concerns that are brought to their attention. A great, supportive academic involvement that will guarantee your child a cutting-edge education in a small, caring environment. If your child is looking for an alternative to the teach-to-the-test atmosphere of your current high school and is looking for a challenge, Woodbridge Academy is the school for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

As a current student of this school, I have to say that the educational program is great and beneficial because of the health technology course. However, a few teachers in charge of required academic classes have failed to meet my expectations. I must admit that the rest of the instructors are fantastic and has so far provided me much more than a good education. Regarding the environment and student crowd, the academy is doing well with getting rid of the students who do not appreciate the opportunity given to them. I must mention that this school is only for students who are certain of their future and know what career they desire. This is not for students who are forced to become doctors because their mommy and daddy wants them to. This is for students who are sure they want to go into the medical fields to help individuals in need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

This school is an Average eventhough it has been changed to the Allied Health and Biomedical Sciences. Only if they can raise their study standard. For a Academy the teachers can be much more knowledgable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

Amazingly awesome school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

The Middlesex County VS is now the the Middlesex County Academy for Allied Health and Biomedical Sciences. It is more than a name change. The school itself has been completely renovated, the mission is changed to the preparation of highly motivated students to enter and succeed in universities to earn degrees leading to professions in the medical and biomemedical fields. In addition to a strong background in science, honors-level language arts, social studies, mathematics, and world languages courses are taught by teachers with advanced degrees in their subject areas. The Academy offers courses for college credit through UMDNJ and Middlesex County College. Admission is based upon student grades, examination scores, and personal interviews. Only the top 40 - 45 applicants are accepted (out of 185 applicants). The Academy is in its first year of operation and it is now accepting students for the Class of 2013.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

Poorly maintained school with terrible discipline and poor quality of instruction. The principal is clueless and teachers are uninspired. I had to pull out my son after a disastrous year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 58% 9%
White 30% 51%
Hispanic 9% 22%
Black 3% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Alex Guzman

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Convery Boulevard
Woodbridge, NJ 07095
Phone: (732) 634-5858

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St James School-Woodbridge
Woodbridge Township, NJ






Our Redeemer Lutheran School
Woodbridge Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT