Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodbridge Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Duffy Ms. McHale Ms. Wong Mr. Cianfano These teachers have all been so helpful in helping me keep my boys on track and up to date with assignments...THANKS for all you do!

Woodbridge Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 boys who have just start WMS this September 2015. I must say that while the building is in shambles, that is no reflection of the teachers. As a teacher myself I would rather my children go to an ugly school with good teachers than a beautiful school with bad teachers. My sons have completely different classes and teachers, and I've had to contact several teachers for several different reasons and was always responded to quickly, professionally and in a caring way. Kudos to the 6th grade teachers. I'm happy and my boys are happy.


Woodbridge Middle School 2

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
After a full year with my child at this school I have to down grade my previous review. The school had many issues this year with the students being evacuated several times due to the smell of gas. They are suppose to be installing a new boiler this year so I hope this doesn't happen again. The school is very old and even though there have been some upgrades, there were still many classrooms and areas of the school that had peeling paint & plaster hanging from the ceilings. The basement which the kids have classes in such as music and science had a bad odor and is run down in parts. The teachers and staff are great at this school, but unfortunately there are children sent from other schools in Woodbridge township who were suspended from their schools and wind up in this school. They have behavioral problems and disrupt the classes. Due to lack of funds & low parental involment the kids do not have many activities to enrich their education or school spirit events. The other Middle schools in Woodbridge seem to have a lot more going on for the kids and I have spoken to other parents regarding their children transferring out of this school into other schools in the township and were much happier. There is a new principal and I hope he can turn this school around for the better. Your child will get a basic middle school education here if you have to send them. My child liked most of the teachers here and that helped a lot. I hope things get better for the kids with this new school year.

Woodbridge Middle School 5

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
The Vice Principal is tough, yet approachable and the kids respect him. They should of kept the uniform BUT make it only two colors to wear. This way there is not too much saggy, tight and unproper clothing wearing. School does great in teaching levels for each child. WMS is proactive and proficient. 2 of my children attendend and I had now issues. Good school, keep up the great efforts!

Woodbridge Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I have a Seventh Grader in WMS and I have nothing but good things to say. She has excelled academically. Every year she has had teachers who encourage her to develop, & really care about her future, give life lessons and encourage lifelong learning. The gifted program is great & the office staff is awesome. The are VERY up on safety, they know me well and still ask to see ID, even though we are in a good neighborhood, the principal stands outside to ensure students get in the building safely. My daughter once was weary about a suspicious car who approached a couple of kids asking questions and a notification was sent to all the parents and the next day the school had police presence in front of the school before and after school. The Vice Principal is tough, yet approachable and the kids respect him. two thumbs up from this mom.


Woodbridge Middle School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
nice :) nice school in a nice neighborhood. the other comment about too many fights was about a school in perth amboy. my bad :)

Woodbridge Middle School 1

Posted January 19, 2011
- a parent
There is not enough control over the students in this school. They could use some more discipline.

Woodbridge Middle School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
By Teachers following rules shows students examples of adults doing the right thing. WMS is proactive and proficient

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodbridge Middle School
525 Barron Avenue, Woodbridge, NJ  07095
(732) 602-8690
Last modified Woodbridge Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodbridge Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top