Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ross Street Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

the office staff is RUDE but what do you expect from their leadership? Principal Hahn is worthless & bully. the school is MUCH better without her. Wherever she is going, I feel bad for the students (MOST OF ALL), the parents who are going to have to be concerned about the bullying their children will receive from her & the office staff because she will try to do their jobs as well....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

I don't know each person's personal experience as to why they bashed Mrs Hahn or the low rating. But, my son has been there since kindergarten and is now in 5th grade, and I have seen great improvement since Mrs. Hahn became principal. I would have given 2 stars prior to her arrival. Mrs. Hahn spoke with her educators and found out the complaints of parents and fixed them. She is very involved. I would also like to give a shout out to Mr. Negron. I liked all the teachers my son had. The staff I didn't care for were replaced when Mrs. Hahn arrived. The office staff is not bubbly but they are efficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Great school, great teachers and a wonderful principal. Unfortunately, the principal will be leaving at the end of the 2013-2014 school year. I would recommend this school hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2013

I am surprised to see why Ross Street Elementary School is rated 5 out of 10, to me it is a big understatement. Our daughter loved and learned so much while going to the school. Both Mr. Weitz (1st Grade) and Mrs, Smith (2nd Grade) went above and beyond to establish personal connection to our daughter. We moved to Westfield in the middle of the year, but my daughter missed Ross Street so much she wanted to go back. I would like to mention that her teacher at elementary school in Westfield told us that she is well ahead of other students since she already knows most of the curriculum that other students in the class started to learn. I would like to mention Mrs. Hahn is a wonderful principal. Thanks Ross Street Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I had moved to Woodbridge and I didn't know what to expect when placing my child into the public school system. The school has exceeded my expectations in every way. The teachers are very caring and helpful, and the principal is outstanding. Mrs. Hahn goes above and beyond for the school and its students. My child loves it there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I was a former student at Ross Street School. I really miss the teachers who were so nice and always helped me with my work. I learned so much from them. It is a great school!!!


Posted April 23, 2013

My daughter attends first grade here. Ms. Mcnair is a very good teacher. My daughter is above level on everything. The school offers free before school tutoring for children who need it, which is wonderful and RARE... and Mrs. Haan is a wonderful principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Academically and technologically leaves a few things desired, but I do believe that the staff here really cares about the students. I am surprised to see people bashing Mrs. Hahn. She has never been anything but attentive and compassionate in all my dealings with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2012

If you want your son/daughter to be treated as the school mascot a "raccoon" then this is the place you should have them, plain and simple GARBAGE! The new principal Kimberly Hahn is a worthless, pathetic and most unprofessional individual I've met. She ridicules and chastises the children so beware and make sure to listen to your children and most of all stand up for your children or she will bully them. I had to report her to the Superintendent for all the shananigans she tried to pull with my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

My daughter loves to go to her school.... The new Principal Mrs. Hahn has done a wonderful work.. I was concerned at start to put my daughter in that school because of other people comments, but now that she is there I have no complaints and I am actually greatfull with all the staff and techers... Whenever I needed them they got in touch very quickly, both teachers and staff.... Ross Street is THE BEST!!!!! Let's go Racoons!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

The office staff is extremely unpleasant to say the least. They seem to think that having alot of students is an excuse to treat people badly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

nasty office staff and teachers ignore emails and notes. my daughter complained that teachers never checked the homework's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

not at all impressed. too many students, very impersonal. nasty office staff and teachers ignore emails and notes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Great and wonderful - my son loves to go there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

No problems to mention. School is adequate for the elementary level. Principal is very dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

Ross St. is a nice school and has very nice teachers. The students all get help when they need it and plenty of it!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students59%
Female67%
Male51%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
General education63%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant59%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students73%
Female69%
Male77%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
General education77%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students64%
Female76%
Male50%
Black36%
Asian92%
Hispanic59%
White68%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
General education70%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students77%
Female85%
Male67%
Black64%
Asian92%
Hispanic63%
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black71%
Asian92%
Hispanic93%
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students53%
Female55%
Male53%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White69%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
General education60%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 36% 22%
White 31% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 9%
Black 15% 16%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Hahn

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Ross Street
Woodbridge, NJ 07095
Phone: (732) 602-8511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St James School-Woodbridge
Woodbridge Township, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT