Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ross Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Amy Coons and Amy Hynes, Roseann Mattoon, Ms Haras...these are fantastic teachers. We couldn't have been happier with our experience at Ross Street.

Ross Street Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Our homework load is appropriate for our kids' age (Rising 3rd graders). Focus on spelling, sentence structure and creative writing have paid dividends with their current reading level.


Ross Street Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Our son, on the Autism Spectrum, has always been taught to NEVER give up. His teachers have reinforced that every step of the way. It is why he has been successful in school and is reading well above grade level.

Ross Street Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The Ross Street rules get reinforced every day. Respect for self, Respect for others, Respect for Ross Street. A+

Ross Street Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Our teachers are very communicative about issues arising among the students. They are very aware of the dynamics of social groups and we have felt very positive about how they've navigated that.


Ross Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Ross Street has implemented a comprehensive anti-bullying campaign. My kids' moral compass has been improved for having gone there.

Ross Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
I'm confounded by the ratings on this site regarding Ross St. Elementary in Woodbridge, NJ. I can tell you that our twins who just completed 2nd grade at Ross St. both had amazing teachers who did a great job. My son is on the Autism Spectrum and has been in the district since Early Intervention in Pre-K. The Child Study Team has been receptive of my involvement and proactive in implementing all the necessary modifications. He us currently reading at a 7th Grade level. If you watch the video on here entitled "dig deeper", I think you will see that the GS rating is somewhat deceptive. At Ross Street, at least 21% of the students are ESL. As a result, test scores suffer initially, but I think you'll notice an upward trend in proficiency over the grades. Our experience has been very positive. The school is safe, clean and the kids are happy. For Ross Street to be rated a 3? something is amiss in this evaluation. Matthew Jago in Sewaren is a Blue Ribbon school. It is often touted as the BEST in the township. Our son went there for Pre-K Early Intervention and we loved it. GS also has Jago rated as a 3. Dig deeper, folks. This site is misleading.

Ross Street Elementary School 2

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Ross Street School ..this school is so unorganized..Im so disappointed with the service offer to my child in special Ed i really believe all they care about is meeting a quota, meeting the state requirements as far as how many students in their special education program to get money from the state..getting the parents to sign paper and be done with you..Students walking around the hallway with no supervision, its not safe to me having all these people from outside fixing the school ceiling, and others things inside the school while the kids are in the school, walking in the hallway alone..this is the worst school in the district. As far as the new principal< i dont know her and have nothing to say about her


Ross Street Elementary School 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
the office staff is RUDE but what do you expect from their leadership? Principal Hahn is worthless & bully. the school is MUCH better without her. Wherever she is going, I feel bad for the students (MOST OF ALL), the parents who are going to have to be concerned about the bullying their children will receive from her & the office staff because she will try to do their jobs as well....

Ross Street Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
I don't know each person's personal experience as to why they bashed Mrs Hahn or the low rating. But, my son has been there since kindergarten and is now in 5th grade, and I have seen great improvement since Mrs. Hahn became principal. I would have given 2 stars prior to her arrival. Mrs. Hahn spoke with her educators and found out the complaints of parents and fixed them. She is very involved. I would also like to give a shout out to Mr. Negron. I liked all the teachers my son had. The staff I didn't care for were replaced when Mrs. Hahn arrived. The office staff is not bubbly but they are efficient.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ross Street Elementary School
Ross St, Woodbridge, NJ  07095
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (732) 602-8511
Last modified Ross Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top