Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Del Sol Alt.

Public | 10-12 | 168 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2013

I am a graduate of ADS and the staff is amazing! Without these people I would not have graduated on time. They devote their time and attention to the students to ensure success. For this I am thankful!!


Posted December 31, 2011

excellent school! I've heard several ppl say that ADS is not a good school. I have to disagree. We live in Abq and sent our daughter to live with my parents in Alamogordo so that she could go to ADS. The student to teacher ratio can't be beat. My daughter will be graduating on time with honors and will have 21 college credits!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

This school did so much for me. I was beginning my junior year when I had transferred over. I had very few credits and was scheduled 2 years behind of my class. The staff at Academy not only developed a plan to have me graduate in December of 2009 but they also convinced me to go to college. Even nearly 2 years after my time in Academy Del Sol when I go to visit, they are still happy to see me and even give me advice on the next step in my continuing academic career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2010

Academy Del Sol alternative school is an amazing school. i havent gone but a year but the teachers not only care about teaching they care about the students. They arent there just for the pay check they are there to work with every one of the students to get them caught up and we're there because of something that wasn't so good. so thank you mrs carr and the rest of the staff, with out ADS wouldn't be possible
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

This is the best Schoool i have ever attended! The Faculty and Staff are Friendly, and the curriculim is engaging and quite insightful. I would reccoment this school to any High School student who wants to get ahead, but has a past that keeps them held back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2009

everyday i think about how much i learned i hope everyday that i can go on to further my education without ads it probably would have never crossed my mind again thanks for havin me be apart of the first students that gave it a shot even though the ahs didnt care to much for us
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2007

I Was one of the first students selected for this school and I am very proud to have been a student. Because of the Teachers I was able to graduate. I now serve in the Army in Field Artillery. I am working on my next rank as well as going to college for my future job in law enforcement. I just wanted to say that Mrs Carr, Mr and Mrs Martian, and all the rest i miss you all alot.


Posted October 8, 2007

I was starting my junior year, and didn't even have freshman credits due to my own negligence. At ADS I managed to get enough credits to graduate in my year. The student/teacher ratio made a huge difference. You get more one on one attention, less distraction, and it also made it easier to raise my hand and ask questions. Teachers care about your education and your personal life. If you don't show up, they will call and look for you. They want to know you are doing well in all aspects of your life, and will help you no matter what. Special thanks to Mrs. Dettmer, Mrs. Johnson, and Mr. Martin. I miss you all, and thanks for keeping a sense of humor... it made a huge difference for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2007

This was the best school I ever attended!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2005

I think that Academy Del Sol is the best school ever.I reallly like all the staff there everyone is always there to help you no matter what.Mrs.Carr is a great lady and i love her to death she is always there when i need her i wanna thank her so much for everything she has done.When i feel like Im ready to give up she is there to pull me back up she is a wounderful person and a great Principal Mr.Cates and Mrs.Cates are also wounderfull people and i wanna thank them also for all there help if i would of never went to academy del sol i would not of been able to graduate with my class and Academy Del Sol has made that possible I Love all the staff My Pe teacher is my best friend he is so Cool Mr.Sositmen thanks Dude
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2005

This school has given me a new outlook on my whole educational career. before i went to ADS, i thought that i would be dead befor i graduated but now i have the ability to live and to succseed. if you ever have trouble, the staff will literally bend over backwards to try and help you. and if you ditch, the principal will hunt you down and drag you in. this school is the best thing to happen to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2005

The Administrative Staff and Teachers at Academy del Sol are the BEST! The Academy is so much better than Alamogordo High School because the staff actually care whether the students are learning and will offer one on one assistance if a student is having difficulty. They go the extra mile to show the students that success is a matter of mindset, effort, and persistence. I would recommend ADS to anyone interested in getting a great high school education and preparation for the next level. It was a pleasure working with the staff there and my daughter can't say enough good things about the treatment she received while attending ADS. It was the best thing that ever happened to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

If anybody in Alamogordo is having trouble going to the High School, then give ADS a chance. I went and instead of graduating lkate for failing my freshman year I got done and graduated one year early. I learned so much more at this school then I have anywhere my whole life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 4, 2004

Academy Del Sol gave me a second chace to complete school and make a better life for myself. The learning atmosphere was very good. All the staff are very knowladgeable about what they teach and help you on anything you might need help on.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 40% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students10%
Female0%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White11%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female25%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students6%
Female0%
Male12%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Native Americann/a
White12%
Economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students27%
Female24%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students31%
Female17%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2011.

37 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

37 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2011.

37 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 47% in 2011.

37 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students14%
Female15%
Male12%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female55%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students22%
Female30%
Male12%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Native Americann/a
White13%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students32%
Female40%
Male24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 New Mexico used the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test students in grade 11 in Reading, Math, Science and Social Studies. As of 2012, New Mexico will use only the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in reading and math. The NMHSSA is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 26%
Hispanic 36% 59%
Black 9% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 10%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Florida Ave Bldg C
Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone: (505) 439-3270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Imago Dei Academy
Alamogordo, NM


Alamogordo High School
Alamogordo, NM





Cloudcroft High School
Cloudcroft, NM


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT