Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holloman Primary School 2

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The principal is HoRRIBLe. The principal and front staff are rude and don't take care of business. Don't send your kids to this school. There are tons of behavioral issues and the teachers don't have the support of the principal to resolve the issues. All they care about is testing.

Holloman Primary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers can't do their job cause the principal won't back them up. They have so many discipline issues that some of the classrooms can't get things done.


Holloman Primary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The homework packets that go home are ridiculous. The kids aren't challenged educationally. Some teachers don't even give homework.

Holloman Primary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
If you have a bright student they will not push them. They only care about testing.

Holloman Primary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The principal is HORRiBlE and brushes all behavioral issues under the rug. The is tons of big issues in the school that aren't addressed and they worry about the little issues.


Holloman Primary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The kids aren't held responsible for their actions. They brush off the issues so the kids continue to be disruptive in the classroom.

Holloman Primary School 2

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
This is my kids second year at this school, it seems to have a high turnover rate between teachers & priciples. We haven't been pleased thus far with the school, it seems all they care about is state testing here instead of actually teaching kids the way things used to be for children to thrive. We've even had the office bad mouth our kids previous school which is tenth in the nation and this school doesn't even rate in the top 50, saying how behind the school is yet it's a blue ribbon school and this school rates a C grade. They lose a lot of forms that you turn in. Hopefully you'll get lucky with a good experience, I have to struggle each day to get my 2 kids to go to school here which has never been an issue in the past. They beg us to take them to an off base school, how sad is that.

Holloman Primary School 4

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
My son went kinder, first and second. Overall, a good school. It always depends a lot on the teacher , but pretty good I would say.


Holloman Primary School 1

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
My children attended this school for two years. Academics were horrible!!!!! They were only concerned with passing state tests. I said passing, not excelling. My youngest was behind after leaving here. (3rd to 5th grade) My oldest was ok because extremely smart and went to Texas schools early on. There are "teachers" that do not not have more than a high school diploma!!!! How is that? I could not believe they did not have any college or teaching degree - or any degree! Yes, some teachers were awesome and very nice, but this isn't good enough to run the entire school. NOT fair to all the children attending here. Yucca is a MUCH better school choice!!! Speak to other parents first, if you can't get your child into the best teachers, go off base!! Your children are better off.

Holloman Primary School 3

Posted April 05, 2012
- a community member
Before we moved to the area, everyone told us that we absolutely HAD to send our 1st grader to Holloman, as it was the only real choice in the city. My daughter is a very smart girl, but an average student. She is highly social, kind and joyful. She needs to be redirected sometimes to star on task, but is generally a very obedient child. She LOVED kindergarten in another state and thrived. She was very excited about a new school and new friends. About 2 weeks into the year, she started complaining of stomach aches, saying she didn't want to go to school. After some questioning she revealed that she was being harassed by another student. When I addressed the problem with the teacher, she rolled her eyes and said she would move my child, which she did. The harassment continued and nothing was done. Furthermore, my daughter was coming home with behavior reports, which was out of character. We pulled her and moved her to a private school. She had a great year. Back to her old self. I have heard similar stories from many parents. This school has gotten too big, so the average good kid is falling through the cracks. 28 kids in 1 classroom is too many. The teachers are overwhelmed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holloman Primary School
750 Arnold, Alamogordo, NM  88330
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (505) 439-3270
Last modified Holloman Primary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-2. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top