Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holloman Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 182 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

I attended Holloman for 6th and 7th grade. I loved that school. Everybody there was friendly, students and teachers alike. There was literally no bullying and if there was it was taken care of immediately. The teachers were devoted and friendly. I have no complaints other than the lunch lady who wouldn't tell you that you owed money until she took your tray and handed you a sandwich with nothing but cheese on it.


Posted April 6, 2014

This school was terrible! The teachers cared more about their social time then helping their students. I pulled my child out and homeschooled. There was problems with bullying and the teachers just turned their heads when it would happen. I would stay away from this school if at all possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

HMS is one of the best midde schools in NM. The teachers are highly effective and provide multiple methods for students to learn. The leadership is caring and ensures that all students are focusing on learning not only academics but also interpersonal skills. The students actually enjoy school!


Posted December 26, 2010

I went to HMS from 6th to 8th grade, and now I am in college. The school and teachers are great! However, the principal was uncompassionate to my medical conditions. I was very sick in middle school and went to the hospital often, but my grades where 3.8 and higher and I was in the gifted program. However, she treated me coldly and as if I was a nuisance. She had the nerve to ask me to step down from prestigious organizations because she thought my absences (which were all singed by a doctor at Holloman or from the ER) where a bad sign to other students. It angers me to think about the way she treated me! The students she loves are the ones who can get her recognized in society, have officer parents, and can not see through her false sentiments towards them. To sum it all up, she is an Attention Mongrel, who will use your children to get herself recognized! I saw her true colors, and they are not blue and gold, but green with envy! But in the end I have had the last laugh because I am a straight A student in college, go to a prestigious college, and have out grown my sickness. She however, is still stuck there in the desert chasing fame through other people's children.


Posted May 19, 2010

HMS provides a safe environment in which to learn. My 6th grader has enjoyed all of his classes this year, especially the gifted class. The school is small, student/teacher ratio is low, and teachers get to know their students well. There is good communication between teachers and parents, and the staff genuinely cares for the children. The PTO is very active, and I have enjoyed being a member and helping out this year. I look forward to next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

We just had our first parent/teacher conference for our 6th grader. All my son's teachers were in attendence and so positive and upbeat! As another parent mentioned in 2006, your child chooses between band or choir but also PE. I don't know if that was an option in 2006, but it is now. I really like the principal and teachers. It is a small school but there are many clubs and extra-curricular opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My child attended this school for two years. I was very happy with it and now that we have moved away I realize even more what a great school HMS is! The principal, Ms. Showalter, is a strong leader, caring towards the students and always makes time to talk to parents. Discipline problems seem to be rare in this school. There are many teachers in the school who have been there for years and are very dedicated to the kids. Most of them go above and beyond to make sure the kids in this small school have extra opportunities to compete on a state and even national level. Such as art, writing, science, history, math and knowledge masters. The gifted program is very creative and fun - but at the same time I felt that my child was really learning in an exciting and interesting way. Parent volunteers are encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Holloman Middle School is an outstanding educational opportunity! It is by far the best middle school in the Alamogordo Public School District. The location on Holloman AFB creates a safe environment for the kids. The teachers and staff truly care about the students' safety and education. The Principal ensures respect is given to each individual (staff and students)and educational goals are met. They have a surplus of volunteers I assume to be contributed to the military. The spouses of those enlisted spend many hours at the school volunteering their time keeping all extra curricular programs active and strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

My child was in 6th grade. The online grade/homework monitoring is great. MOst teachers do a good job of updating the site. The fact the kids must take choir or band as their only options in the 6th grade for electives is rather dumb. Bottom line, you are either stuck paying for an instrument for one year or making your child take choir. The principal is ok, and the teachers do an adequate job. Not bad, but not outstanding. They do offer the National Junior Honor Society program. I would say it is the best middle school in Alamogordo/Otero county, but that isn't saying much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

All I have to say is that Holloman Middle School is GREAT for any student willing to actually learn. The leadership at Holloman is outstanding and the new principle is very concerned with each and every student, and is willing to try new things every year. I am very impressed with the parent involvement and the discipline policy. It gives the students more determination. The teaching is very great, although the school only lacks size. I'd recommend it to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

63 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students69%
Female74%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female80%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students65%
Female54%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female93%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female57%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students83%
Female93%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 26%
Hispanic 13% 59%
Black 9% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1st St and Arizona St 768
Alamogordo, NM 88330
Phone: (505) 439-3270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Alamagordo SDA School
Alamogordo, NM


Imago Dei Academy
Alamogordo, NM





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT