Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Father James B Hay School

Private | PK-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Alamogordo

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $147,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $542.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

My husband and I enrolled our daughter in the Kindergarten class, 2013-2014 school year at Fr. James B. Hay School. The Little School with a Big Heart , automatically makes you feel like your family. I am so pleased with their whole curriculum. They encourage students to do their best. The classes are small which allows all the teachers know all of the students on a first name basis. Students who have previously attended this school, and have moved onto middle or high school, have all been in higher level classes due to the curriculum at Fr. Hay. This year is the first year in which they offer Spanish for the 7th and 8th graders. One of the many reasons why I want my daughter to attend Fr. Hay is that, we are Catholic and I want her to learn more about her faith, not just at home but at school. Fr. Hay makes it optional for non-Catholic students, to work on other school work that s appropriate for their age/class. Fr. Hay offers, Taekwondo for the whole student body. A unique feature that Father Hay has, parents and guardians are required to fulfill Volunteer Hours. I feel this is a great way for us parents/guardians to set a wonderful example of pride for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

My son has been attending FJBH since last year.I love that the class size is small.I moved my son from another private school where I felt that he wasn't enjoying learning.When I moved him to FJBH school I noticed a big change in him.He enjoyed going to school he was more active and not just sitting and constantly learning. He also gets to do Tae Kwon Do. My daughter went to school there in Kindergarten as well I regret not keeping there till she was ready to go to H.S. All the kids are great, the big kids look out for the little ones.I can't wait till my son gets older and can learn to play the guitar which Mrs. Scott teaches along with Tae Kwon Do and is also the PE teacher. Have I mentioned how nice all the teachers are and how wonderful it is to be able to communicate with them anytime I have a concern. The PreK always has a waiting list which I think say's a lot.My sons teacher is Great! I can't wait till he goes to 1st grade to be with Mrs. Kosek who I hear is a Great teacher. I could say so much more but there just isn't anymore room. I would recommend that everyone take the opportunity to visit or call FJBH school if you are looking for an alternative to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Father Hay is a great choice for children ages Pre-K-8th grade. We are active duty military and have experienced nine schools throughout the years with our three children, ages 18, 15 and 11. Our youngest attended Holloman Elementary during 4th grade. After one year with APS we made the change to Father Hay. In that year my daughter entered with the math level of a second grader...this after one year of school in Alabama and one with APS...by the end of Fifth grade Mrs. Jarvis had her up to a Seventh grade level of math. Her reading scores also improved from a 5th grade level to an 11th grade level in one year. Without question she will be attending Father Hay for her Middle School years. This school is a diamond in the rough and I feel extremely blessed to be a part of it. The teachers and staff are welcoming and loving. I love that my daughter gets Tae Kwon Do and Guitar lessons included in tuition. I also love that the children run a mile every week and have performances at the local theatre. We made the BEST choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

Our move to Alamogordo was unexpected and happened very fast, so we didn't have a lot of time to research the area schools. After talking to the few people we did know, we decided to enroll our 1st grader into the on-base elementary school. Rather quickly, it became clear that this was not a good fit, so we began researching alternatives. We are not catholic, so although we'd heard good things about Father Hay, we were reluctant to even consider it as a viable option. A friend finally talked us into visiting the school. My husband and our 3 kids made an impromptu visit to the school on a Friday morning and were treated to a lengthy, in-depth tour and q&a with the administrator. We were introduced to the 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Kosek, who also spent a lot of time with us answering questions and giving us her philosophies and teaching style. We were so impressed on our visit that we not only enrolled our 1st grader, but our twins into the pre-k as well. It has been a great year for all 3. I cannot say enough about Mrs. Kosek or the Pre-K teachers, Mrs. Avalos and Mrs. Gallegos. The small class sizes, tae kwon do and music programs and homey feeling have made all the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Coming from a parent who researched every school around the city, along with resorting to checking out home school - I absoutely fell in love with Father Hay and their teachers and staff. My son began Pre-K this year and I must admit my expectations were not only met, but were exceeded. The teachers are amazing, have the patience of saints, and provide great feedback on how my son is doing. He has gone from counting to about 14 to over 30 in a few months, is writing, learning so much about the world and the value of prayer...he even says grace for us before every meal! I just wish they had classes to 12th grade - as i would keep my kids there the whole way. Keep up the dedicated and wonderful work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

My son transferred to Fr. Hay when he was old enough for pre-k ,from an Army daycare facility. The advantages of having a real, state-certified teacher, with an aide, in the classroom cannot be overstated. The class size is small, the teacher and her aide are extremely competent and kind to the children while still being strict and demanding compliance. The curriculum for 4 year olds is comprehensive; colors, shapes, letters and letter sounds, pre-reading skills, social skills, etc. The children still have nap and playground time which is essential; for the boys especially. My family has changed from one where my son was obviously running the show at his old daycare, and tried Mom's limits anew at the start of every weekend, to one where my rules and values are reinforced throughout the day. We are so pleased with the switch that I plan to keep him here throughout elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Father Hay offers a safe alternative to public school. It provides an enhanced curriculum in which my children receive one-on-one and small group instruction. The teachers are committed to excellence and work for very little pay. The community has supported this little school for over 50 years because it addresses the whole child and teaches morals and ethics which are so lacking in public schools. The principal leads a team of caring, qualified staff who give more time and energy to this little school than I have ever seen in public schools. I am proud to have my children go to Father Hay School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Father Hay offers a safe alternative to public school. It provides an enhanced curriculum in which my children receive one-on-one and small group instruction. The teachers are committed to excellence and work for very little pay. The community has supported this little school for over 50 years because it addresses the whole child and teaches morals and ethics which are so lacking in public schools. The principal leads a team of caring, qualified staff who give more time and energy to this little school than I have ever seen in public schools. I am proud to have my children go to Father Hay School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My child has been in enrolled in the Preschool Program since last school year. From the begining, there was a definite improvement in her academic and social skills. The teachers are thorough in their teaching of the basics in language arts and math, while providing a good, christain atmosphere. Thanks to their hard work and dedication, my daughter will be ahead of the curve when she starts Kindergarten next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I have 2 daughters that go to this school. One thing I can say about this school is that it definately has a big heart. The teachers not only push the children to achieve their best, but they also really care. The teachers are there because they love to teach, not for the pay. the only thing that I wish could change is the parental involvement. It seems like the same group of parents always trying to do everything....if only more parents would volunteer, think of what we could accomplish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

Available academic programs are limited and there are no activities such as sports teams to participate in. Parents show no involvement nor support of the school. The facilities are very run down and in need of major repairs. Questionable pre-K curriculum, more like daycare. Fair teaching standards but questionable problem solving skills. Discipline is lacking in a major way. Unfortunately the educational standards are substandard accross the city and state so that in comparisson to other schools in the area this one is no better or no worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

I have twins in the 8th grade, and have been at the school since 5th grade. The school's administrator and teachers have all of the students' best interest at heart, and encourage and challenge each child without hesitation. The curriculum is advanced, with the 6th-8th grade areas of math and English at least 1 year if not more ahead of the public school. The school's goal is also to teach the students how to treat each other with respect as well as to be responsible contributing individuals to society.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 26%
Hispanic 44% 59%
Black 11% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Las Cruces
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 East 8th Street
Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone: (575) 437-7821

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Imago Dei Academy
Alamogordo, NM


Alamagordo SDA School
Alamogordo, NM




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT